Gourmet?

Ok, “gourmet” might be over stating it, but I really love to cook. Mostly, I enjoy trying to get my husband and kids to eat vegetables, as well as using as many natural ingredients as I can find. I also try to take recipes we love and making them lower calorie, lower carbohydrate, and lower fat than before, but not being able to tell when you taste it! In doing this, I have lost 65 pounds in the last year. I still have some to lose, but it is a far cry from where I was before. Writing this blog is partially an attempt to keep myself accountable for completing my goal. I didn’t set a time limit because life gets busy, and I would rather take longer getting there than continue to discourage myself because I’m not doing it fast enough. I want to be a healthier, happier me, and I will spend as much time as I need to do it the right way. The other part of writing this is to share my recipes and inspirations with anyone who may want or need them. I am learning that it is hard to be a stay at home mom and continually stay motivated to not only lose weight and be healthy, but even just put make up on and get out of the house some days. Balancing everything I have to get done in a day is almost impossible. From getting to the gym to laundry and dinner, finding lost toys and running errands, it gets a little crazy. We all want our children to have a mom they can learn from, and this is my little part of that. Living healthy is a lifestyle change. I lived quite a bit of my life overweight, some of it depressed, and now that I’m a mom, the last thing I want is for my kids to struggle with anything I did. Don’t we all? I know it isn’t a guarantee, but I will try my hardest. So here’s to a healthy life in as many ways as we can control, good food, and a happy family.

5 thoughts on “Gourmet?

  1. Great first post! I look forward to reading it and getting some healthy ideas for my peeps! (I promise thats the last time i’ll ever say peeps outside of easter.)

Leave a Reply

