Working Temporarily…

As I said before, I’m a stay at home mom. I absolutely love it, although it took me some time to get in the groove and find a good place where I was able to find my self worth and value what I was doing every day. Because even though I don’t sit down and I can’t get my house clean enough, spending all day refilling milk cups and changing diapers was not where I saw myself 5 years ago. I have worked in veterinary offices since 2008, and when we moved to Edmond I started working for a practice that sees exotic and domestic animals. Talk about keeping my interest, and doing something different every day. Mixed in with the vaccines and spays and neuters there are all kinds of different animals from monkeys to hedgehogs to large cats to huge macaws. It is so nice to go to a job where you learn something every day and really enjoy being there. The people I worked with became my family here, since we were so far from our real family. We all have kids the same ages, and spend time outside of work together all the time. So when I left in September of 2011 before I had Truett, I was sad to leave. I wasn’t looking forward to staying at home and being bored all day compared to how much I loved my job. Since having Truett and finding a routine with my kids, as well as just really digging in to being a good housewife and mother, I am in love with my new role and can’t imagine myself doing anything else.

That being said, I am back at work temporarily. My friend Claire is on maternity leave so I am covering for her while she has her little one. This is where I would post amazing pictures of how cute he is, and tell you how much he looks like his brother Rowan, but he has decided to wait as long as possible to make his appearance (her due date was Oct. 2). My other friend Alicia is keeping Hadley and Truett for me on the days that I’m working, and her three-year-old is Hadley’s best friend. They went to the pumpkin patch today!! We could not ask for a better person to keep our kids!

I have only been back for two weeks, but it really makes me appreciate being at home with my kids. When I told Brent that my boss had asked me to fill in for Claire and that I wanted to do it, he was for it, but he was also concerned that I would want to keep working after Claire came back. I assured him that as much as I loved my job, I loved being at home more. And it has taken me a long time to be able to say that. I am social, and outgoing, and love to be around people and the medical field. So staying at home for me at first was like a punishment, even though I adore my kids. But now that I’ve been back and I’ve had to drop my kids off every morning, I can’t wait until Thanksgiving when I get to go back to staying home with them. But I totally understand the need that some women have who choose to go back to work. It’s hard when you finally find something you love doing for a career, not many people really love their jobs. And I know that there are those moms who don’t get the option to stay at home. So sometimes that motivates me to do a little more and play a little harder, just because I know not everyone can. I lucked out finding a husband who made it a priority for me to stay home with them, and supports us so that I can.

Some days are hard, and some days are harder. But the rewards are beyond amazing.

3 thoughts on “Working Temporarily…

  1. I still feel guilty because for SO many years all I wanted was to be able to stay home with my babies. I quickly realized that is was not what my fantasies were made of. Staying home is HARD work(mentally) but it really has been something that I cherish. I think I will be ready to go back to work when Liam starts Kindergarten but even then I want to keep it part time. I still want to be there for my kids when they need me.

  2. What a great blog.

    I’m just having to start thinking about trying the “Stay at Home mom” thing again and this really helped! 🙂

    • I’m with you. I know we aren’t super close, but I am so here if you ever want to talk. One of the big reasons I started this blog was because I don’t feel like many people talk enough about the struggle SAHM’s have, and that it is just supposed the be this instinct that we all have and do well at. Well for me it isn’t. I really have to try to enjoy it, but once I do and get in a routine, make play dates and get out of the house every day, it’s so worth it. Sometimes I get in a funk, or wish I could go back to work, but after a day or two I’m so glad I never followed up on it. It is so much better this time around having an older child who can have a conversation with me and do things with me. When I just had one, it was so hard. Anyway, I’m here. I hope you’ll use me as a resource and won’t have as hard a time as I did 😉

Leave a Reply

