Losing weight

Quite a few people have asked me about what I have been doing to lose weight, so I thought now would be a good time to share.

I remember being bigger than all my friends growing up, but it was never really an issue for me until middle school, when I started seeing who was becoming the popular crowd or listening to who the boys were talking about. I was kind of a tomboy, so I just thrived in that for awhile, not needing any extra attention to how big I was getting. I remember going to my pediatricians office right around my 14th birthday and my mom had mentioned to him that I would be going to a different school the next fall. And he very gently encouraged me to be healthier, lose some weight and start fresh the next year. For some reason, that’s all it took, and I really hit hard into the portion control and eating better. This was also when the Adkins diet was new, so I did it and went from 180 to 135 in about 6 months. High School was great, I loved it, I never got teased, boys didn’t I think I was one of them, and I definitely felt more like a girls girl after losing it all.

Jump forward to college, I gained about 10 pounds the first year, and then my dad passed away. Suddenly, unexpectedly, and devastating doesn’t even come close to the impact it had on my life or my family. I spiraled into depression and anxiety, and started drinking more with my “friends”. Never even noticing the effect it was having on me physically. Maybe I noticed, but I didn’t care. When I was 21, a year and a half after my dad had died, my mom put me in Discovery, which brought me out of my depression and I haven’t looked back. I really think it saved my life. However, I didn’t stop eating. Then I met my future husband, and we went out to eat all the time, out to bars, and I just gained and gained more weight. I remember weighing myself at 240 once and thinking that was the last time I was getting on the scale. So I don’t know exactly what my highest weight was, I just go by 240.

It was when Brent and I were getting serious and talking about getting married that I snapped out of it and thought, “I don’t want to look like this at my wedding!” I decided to cut everything in half. I would fix my meals as usual, and then cut each item in half and put it in a Tupperware and in the fridge before I even sat down. That way I wasn’t as tempted to eat ‘just a little more’. I got down to 195 and got pregnant with Hadley. We were so excited, so we got married and when I delivered I weighed 230. We moved to Oklahoma and I was a new mom to a 5 week old, staying at home, and 3 hours away from anyone I knew. Did I mention we were going in to winter? Talk about post pardum depression. I didn’t lose a pound of baby weight until Hadley was 17 months old. My friend and I started a boot camp, and I lost about 25 pounds. Brent and I had been discussing having another baby, and decided that we would just try but not expect anything for about a year. A month later I found out I was pregnant. There went my weight loss. I didn’t gain as much the second time, but I was disappointed that I had to stop trying to lose weight. When I delivered with Truett I was 220 again. Ugh.

That was one year ago. I kicked it into high gear and really got serious about getting healthy. There were times when it was hard to play on the floor with Hadley because I was so heavy, and I was determined not to be that mom who had to sit down to play or was always watching, never participating. I really started watching what I ate and counting calories after Truett was born, and dropped about 25 pounds in 3 months. Then I hit a plateau so I started doing the Jillian Michaels DVDs, 30 day shred mostly. I loved it. I lost another 10-15, and then I hurt my back. I went to the chiropractor to find out that I have a bulging disc, and have probably had it for some time. I probably picked Truett up wrong (he is a huge baby) and really hurt it. I knew I couldn’t let that’s top me from losing more weight, so I started cutting out flour, sugar, starches, and eating only carbs in vegetables. Not even counting the carbs like on the Adkins diet, just only eating good carbs. Not totally cutting out carbs, or anything like it. But eating clean, healthy food. I definitely have more energy, and since April I have lost almost another 25 pounds. I am still eating the same way, but now that my back is better I have also started going to the gym. I was much better about it before I was working, but I try to go as often as I can. As soon as I’m done working at Thanksgiving ill be back in the gym every day. My chiropractor recommended Pilates, which I really enjoy. I also do the elliptical for 30-60 minutes to begin with, because it is lower impact than running on the treadmill. I find that I can go much longer at the same pace on the elliptical than running. Yesterday I did almost 6 miles and burned 650 calories. I don’t know if I’ve ever done that on the treadmill. I also do circuit training in the weight room, based on what my trainer showed me. I can’t wait to get back into regular training sessions.

I have about 15 pounds to go to reach the goal I set last October. I am trying to do this last part slowly and with exercise so that my skin doesnt lose its elasticity more than it already has. I will be trying to post more recipes, working as really thrown me for a loop as far as making interesting meals. Lately we have just been eating a lot of grilled meats and veggies. Last night I baked chicken breasts and broiled veggies since Brent wasn’t home. Turned out awesome and he ate all the leftovers when he finally did get home at 11.

Here are some pictures from 2007 til now.

Summer 2007                February 2009                          December 2009

December 2010                   December 2011                       Current

Leave a Reply

