Friday and Fish Tacos

Fridays are almost everyone’s favorite day of the week, right? Well this Friday had so many good things converging on it, it was bound to be a great day.

I’m off on Fridays, which is always a good thing, and I got up as usual with the kids and went to the gym about 8:30. I like to do the elliptical for an hour, because I burn 600-700 calories. I would run on the treadmill, but I have a bulging disc in my back and have been told not to do any high impact exercising. So I do the elliptical and then at least 30 minutes in the weight room doing different circuits. I can’t do any exercising where I bend at the waist, so I had my trainer show me different things I can do. I also like Pilates, because it strengthens your core, and that’s what I need to do to avoid another injury. The disc presses against my sciatic nerve and it runs down my right leg. The pain in my leg took a few months to subside, and although it doesn’t necessarily hurt, I still have odd sensations from time to time.

After the gym the kids and I went to my friend’s house for a play date and coffee. She has a 4 year old and a 4 week old, so we had a great time and the kids played for a couple of hours while she shared some amazing coffee with me. She orders it online from New Mexico, and I’m telling you, it’s some of the best coffee I’ve ever had in my life. New Mexico Piñon Coffee is the brand, today we had Adobe Morning blend. I will definitely be picking this up when I am in New Mexico for Thanksgiving.

Came home and Truett took a nap, Hadley was hungry and tired so we watched Daniel Tiger on PBS while we had lunch and then she took a nap. I showered and headed off to get my hair done while Brent stayed home with the kids. Isn’t he amazing? So I adore my hair, looks great, and when I got home Brent was craving a turkey burger. We’ve heard of Flat Tire Burgers in Edmond since we moved here, but for some unknown reason we haven’t ever tried them. Until tonight. They are always winning awards and lots of our friends go there. Their menu has everything, and basically you pick what kind of toppings you want, and they have anything you can think of. Then you pick what kind of meat: beef, chicken, turkey, black bean, tilapia, etc. I went with the Yellowfin Tuna Fish Tacos, which were the best tacos I’ve had yet, and I try fish tacos everywhere we go. These by far take the cake. Medium rare tuna, with fresh cabbage, orange salsa, and wasabi ranch on corn tortillas. With a side of sweet potato fries, oh man, it was a good dinner. And I don’t hate myself for eating it. I could have had 6 tacos and not felt bad, they were that good. I’m definitely going to have to recreate it.

20121102-232358.jpg

Gave the kids a bath and put Truett to bed at 8, then Hadley got to FaceTime with her Nana and Big Daddy, and then she was in bed at 8:30. We decided to watch a movie, so in the spirit of the election we watched The Campaign, which was pretty funny. Will Ferrell and Zach Galifianakis are hilarious. Did I mention we broke into the Halloween candy?

I love my little at home date nights after the kids go to bed. Relaxing I our comfys on the couch is a perfect way to start the weekend. Especially because it is the first weekend I can actually remember where we have NO plans. No parties, no visitors, no events. Crazy! I dont know what I’ll do with myself! I have a feeling I will be doing laundry and cleaning since I have no excuse not to!

What is your favorite thing to do on a Friday night at home?

Is there a meal you love that you’ve remade at home and it came out well?

Leave a Reply

