Skinny Pumpkin Bread and Surgery

I have a really hard time finding a few minutes here and there to work on my blog, so I’m looking forward to being home again and making it what I want it to be.

Last night I was trying to burn off a little anxiety as well as prepare breakfast ahead of time, because this morning was an early one. My husband is having a minor outpatient surgery, which will be fixing his Rhynophyma that he has lived with for over 10 years. It’s is a cosmetic procedure, but it is will be doing more than just correcting this medical problem. It will definitely rebuild his confidence, and I can’t imagine my husband anymore handsome or perfect, but I’ll take it!

And my mom is coming tonight, I’m excited! And I saw her last weekend, but she gets to stay for 4 days! I can’t wait!!

So I was at the store picking up diapers and I grabbed a box of pumpkin bread and a can of pumpkin because I’ve heard that you can substitute it for oil and eggs in some recipes. What better to try canned pumpkin in than pumpkin bread? As far as I’m concerned, you can’t put enough pumpkin in anything.

Mix the dry mix, 1/2 cup and 3 Tablespoons of the pumpkin, and 1 cup of water until smooth, then bake according to the directions on the back. Basically I read that for each egg you substitute 1/4 cup of pumpkin and for oil it is an even exchange.

20121115-232101.jpg

Per serving, and there are 12, this bread has 127 calories and 1.5 grams of fat. Has 40 carbs, but 8 grams of fiber and 3 grams of protein per serving as well.

20121116-082044.jpg

20121116-082056.jpg
Please excuse my pictures, it was 5:30 this morning and I hadn’t had enough coffee yet.

The bread turned out more than amazing. Dense and so so moist, definitely does not taste low calorie. It tastes just like pumpkin pie. Brent couldn’t eat anything this morning so he made me describe it to him, haha. He kept talking about how wonderful it smelled, and the whole house smelled that way. You may be adding carbohydrates to this recipe, but you are also adding fiber and protein, because if you made the recipe by the box, it would have 170 calories per serving, 1.5 grams of fat, 27 carbs, 1 gram of fiber and 2 grams of protein.

Our amazing friend Kelly was at our house at 5:30 this morning to stay with the kids so i could take Brent to the hospital. She is so wonderful! We could not have a better group of people who love our kids and are willing to help us out. I am so lucky to have these people on my life since our family lives far away. When we moved here over 3 years ago, I was really struggling with being away from my family. And I still do, but not as much, only because we have made such strong bonds with our group of friends, that we consider them just like our family. We spend holidays together and weekends, date nights, you name it. We share babysitters and watch each others kids so we can have time alone with our spouses. What is that quote about friends, “Friends are the family we get to choose for ourselves”. It has taken us quite a while to build our circle of friends and I’m so glad it has. I have friends from work who are some of my best friends, our neighbors are definitely the most amazing neighbors you could ever ask for. I will outgrow my house and someone will have to physically remove me before I ever leave our cul-de-sac. And through work or other friends I have met some of the most wonderful people who I love spending time with. I remember crying to Brent a couple of years ago about how I didn’t have anyone here in Oklahoma and how badly I missed my life back in Texas, all I wanted was to move home and be with my family and friends. I’m so glad he said no, and we stayed here. And not only for the people we have met, but for the family we have become.

Leave a Reply

