You shouldn’t over-analyze the elves…

We figured out that our elf is actually a girl, so we have named her Holly! Hadley’s reaction to her this morning was not as enjoyable as I wanted it to be, but I have to keep reminding myself that she is 3, and is just learning all of this Christmas stuff. She asked us about a thousand and one questions about the elf, and I think she might have been disappointed that it wasn’t a live, tiny elf from the movies we’ve been watching. Brent is worried that she is so analytical, the elf thing may not be as much fun with her, only because she wants to know the logics of everything. How did it do this, why, when, how would that have worked, what if it was this way… For example: “How did she get in the tree? Well how did she climb up there, its high. How did she get in our house? do you think she came in the chimney? We had a fire going, it was probably hot. Why isn’t she moving? When is she going to talk? Is she going to come down? Is she hungry? What do elves have for breakfast?”…and so on and so on, ALL DAY LONG. It’s like, this is a fun thing, not a science project! I think it will take her a few days to start playing along, but I did hear her talking to Holly while I was in the other room with Truett today, and that was pretty cute.

Last night Holly was reading some of the other animals and baby dolls in the house the story of Elf on the Shelf, so I’m hoping it will be fun to see what Hadley thinks of that! It is hard to think of ideas for her that a preschooler will understand. Many of the ones I have seen online are funnier for older kids, so I’m keeping a list of ideas going for smaller kid stuff.

20121126-232747.jpg
It sure was nice not going to work today, taking Hadley to preschool and running errands. Can you believe I’m halfway done with my Christmas shopping? I can’t, I always wait until the very last minute. Still trying to decide what to get Brent though. He is very hard to get gifts for. He says he likes to be surprised, but then he gives you a list of only 3 things he wants. Can’t really surprise you if you only give me 3 options! I’m trying to think of something that isn’t on his list, but it is so hard, he is super picky.

Looking forward to today, getting back to the gym, organizing the toy room (yes, I am looking forward to that the MOST!), and getting the laundry done. I have a lot to do, I really let my housework slip while I was working. I give such props to the working moms, and the single ones especially. You guys are some strong motivated women! I just felt so overwhelmed, it was almost more than one can take. I’m just glad to be home, back to doing activities with my kids everyday and keeping my house the way my husband likes it, because I think that is very important.

One thought on “You shouldn’t over-analyze the elves…

  1. ah yes the analytical one!!!! Ky is that way and lets just say the 30 min car ride home every single day is full of a bazillion questions that need to be answered and are V-E-R-Y random 🙂 I love that you are doing Elf on the Shelf – I don’t have the patience for it, I’m horrible.

Leave a Reply

