Crockpot Chicken Tacos for a Cold Night!

Happy Monday! I know they usually aren’t happy, but we can try right? And just think- only two weeks until Christmas Eve!! That may be scary to some of you, but I am done shopping! All my presents are wrapped and under the tree. This is the first time that this has ever happened, so if I mention it a few more times, forgive me.

My weekend was great, busy, but nice. Friday we went to dinner at our favorite Mexican food place, grabbed a Starbucks Skinny Salted Caramel Macchiato, and drove the kids around looking at Christmas lights. Brent said at one point, “We are so blessed. I cannot think of a better way to spend my Friday night.” Let me tell you why this means so much to me. Not only because my husband would rather hang out with me and our two little ones on a Friday night when he could be doing anything else, but because I have many friends who don’t have what I have. I have plenty of friends who also have amazing husbands, but lets be honest, I’m biased. I so appreciate not only how he enjoys being with us, but that he tells us he enjoys it. Also, and I’m sure everyone can agree with me here, before we were married, the last thing we wanted to do on a Friday night was look at Christmas lights or be with a three and one year old. Now it’s all we want to do – most days. Saturday I went to the gym and did my cardio and then met a girlfriend for lunch with the kids. Brent and her husband were out hunting deer and pheasant, but didn’t bring anything home. They did have a good time and got to know each other better, so it was a successful trip for sure. Then the kids took their naps and I wrapped all the presents, and Brent came home. We played hard and had a yummy salad for dinner. Yesterday we went to church, and we go to LifeChurch. It is always amazing, but the music this week was exceptional and the series is on viewing God the way children do. It makes you remember all the amazing things you thought about God when you were little, how literally you took everything the bible says, and realizing we don’t think that way anymore, but should. All of the messages are online, here. We ran some errands, went to Starbucks again (we are addicts and we know it), and came home in time for a fantastic dinner, Crockpot Chicken Tacos. The kids got hot chocolate, and this was Truett’s first time to ever have it so he finished it all without taking the cup out of his mouth, as well as Hadley’s first time to get her own ‘real’ Starbucks cup. She thought she was hot stuff after that!

20121209-222720.jpg

20121209-222730.jpg

I got this recipe from my sister-in-law, Brandi. She made if for 4th of July last summer and we make it all the time now. I haven’t changed anything, except that I don’t eat mine in tortillas. I either use big leafy lettuce leaves to make tacos or I make it into taco soup! It is low calorie and low carb!

Ingredients:
4-5 chicken breasts
1 packet chicken taco seasoning
1 can green chiles
1 can diced fire roasted tomatoes
1 box chicken stock

Directions:
Put everything in the crockpot and turn it on high for 4-5 hours. Shred the chicken with forks right before serving and put it back in the crockpot. Seriously, it’s that easy.

20121209-222203.jpg

For toppings we had cheese, sour cream, salsa, and black beans. I put a few jalapeños on mine tonight too. I made it into soup for me, so I basically just added more broth to my bowl. Perfect meal for a cold wintery night! Plus everyone in my family loves it. I have a big Tupperware full of leftovers and will be eating on this all week.

20121209-222334.jpg

This week is a busy one. Monday and Wednesday Hadley has preschool, Brent has finals this week, Hadley has her school Christmas program, we have to go see Santa, and did I mention we are having a little get together on Saturday? So I’m also planning that. But I LOVE to plan a party, so that is no trouble.

Our elf tried to sneak in my cookie jar over the weekend too. Sneaky Holly!

20121209-222940.jpg

3 thoughts on “Crockpot Chicken Tacos for a Cold Night!

  1. I got done shopping and wrapping last weekend as well – it feels SOO good! Your kids are adorable. 🙂 And that crock pot chicken looks good.

Leave a Reply

