Clean Crafts and Getting Back with My Trainer

I don’t really consider myself a clean freak, but I guess some of my friends think so. I like the house picked up, and I know my husband appreciates it too, especially when he gets home from a stressful day at work. I think the reason my friends think I keep such a clean house is because I don’t really let anyone see it when it’s messy.

Like every other kid, my last concern was whether or not my room was clean, so I know it’s funny for my Mom to hear that I like to keep my house clean. My kids will be the same way, I’m sure. Which is one reason we turned our study into a playroom off of the living room. When I started buying shelving for it I tried to purge a lot of the toys my kids don’t play with and we took them to the Hope Center here in town. I love that I can just put all their toys in there at the end of the day and shut the doors. I pick it up and organize it maybe once or twice a week.

I mention this because today I had the crazy idea of having a craft day, and I said it out loud before I actually thought it through. So now we have to do it. Don’t you love the memory of a three year old? Now I’m scavenging Pinterest to try and find crafts that aren’t super messy. I am not a fan of making a giant mess and having to clean it up while the kids make it worse or cry because I’m trying to clean and not playing with them. I especially cannot leave it there until later, it practically eats away at me! So today I think I settled on a button tree craft. I really like doing the ones that we do with their hands and feet, so we get to see each year how much they’ve changed… But that means either paint or salt dough, and both of those just sound awful! I’m really trying to talk myself into it though. I love when people tell me to just let my kids be messy, they are just kids and need to do it! Thats like telling me to give my kids play-dough on carpet and asking them to rub it in. They can be messy outside. Tonight Brent wants to watch Polar Express and make a Gingerbread House. Which is the last thing I need in my house because I LOVE gingerbread. But we’re making memories here, right? This is why I spend 2 hours a day at the gym!

Today I start back with my trainer, Robbie. I told him I need him to kick my booty, and he is the one who does the bootcamps at the gym, so I have a feeling it’s going to be a sore day tomorrow! I am ready and need it for sure. I still have 15-20 pounds to lose before I reach my goal weight, and I have really plateaued lately, so I can’t wait til Robbie kicks me into high gear. I have a hard time doing things on my own because I’m not sure what is safe since I have a bulging disc in my lower back. That was in April, and although its been 8 months and I’m not having any pain, I know that these discs can be asymptomatic as well as start hurting again at any time. Which is why I got back into the gym in the first place. Besides wanting to be healthier for my kids, and live a longer and better quality

life with my husband, I needed my core to be stronger and lose weight so that my back would stop hurting. And once I did it, the pain stopped! Magic how that works, isn’t it? Follow doctors orders and get healthy, it’s amazing how many things change.

I’m off to the gym, and then hobby lobby!

Update: here are our crafts! No mess, just glue!! My kind of projects!!
image

image

One thought on “Clean Crafts and Getting Back with My Trainer

Leave a Reply

