Back to normal – working out and eating healthy!

I know I haven’t posted much over the last two weeks, it has been so busy around here it’s hard to even find 15 minutes to do anything. After Christmas we loaded up and spent 6 days between my moms house and my brothers house, and it was SO much fun. Besides the fact that I love spending time with my family, they are a blast. We went to the PBR Bull Riding event in the Stockyards in Fort Worth one night, had our family Christmas, and stayed up until 2:30 on New Years Eve having more fun than we probably should have!!

Needless to say, I have not eaten well or worked out much at all. So yesterday I was planning on getting back to normal, but realized after we were all dressed and the kids were in their carseats that I left my keys in my jacket pocket. The jacket that I left at my moms in Dallas. No gym, no grocery shopping, no errands…. Thank goodness she is coming up tomorrow for the weekend. And yes, I have a spare set, but they were on Brent’s key ring at his office. So instead I got the play room organized and took the Christmas decorations down. As much as I love having the decorations up, I am glad to get my house back after the holidays.

And we are busting at the seems in this here. For whatever reason, the builder did not put a pantry in this house. It is the most ridiculous thing. So we have to use like 6 cabinets for our pantry, which means all the kitchen gadgets and pots and pans are crammed together in whats left and it cant be organized when there is no room. Brent and I were just talking yesterday about how when we moved into this house, we didn’t even have enough furniture to fill the rooms. We had room that stayed empty for a while, and a guest room that just had a bed in it. Now, after two kids, our guest room has turned into a playroom (with a smaller bed in it) and we no longer have an office. We make due, and we know we are blessed to have such a great house in a great neighborhood with amazing neighbors, but we are just so ready for some more space.

As far as food and working out go, I got back to the gym today and I started back to eating the way I was before. I had an egg for breakfast and 2 pieces of turkey bacon, and then at the gym I did 3 miles first, then met Robbie and worked out with him for another 30 minutes. He is really good about showing me how to do things without hurting my back, which is what I need. Afterwards I went back up to the cardio room and did another 3 miles. For lunch, Hadley and I had a cut up bell pepper and some hummus, and she also had some whole grain crackers and a side of mac n cheese. Truett is still asleep, so who knows what he’s having.

Tonight for dinner, I’m making a recipe I found on Skinnytaste. It’s called the Skinny Chicken Pesto Bake.

20130103-135232.jpg
I am going to change it just a bit. My sister-in-law made us a goody basket for Christmas with all of my favorite things, cheeses, wine, chocolates, and some summer sausage, and in it was an artichoke bruschetta, so I will be substituting that for the pesto. Only because I have another pesto dish on my menu for next week. Not sure what veggie we will have, probably some steamed mixed veggies.
I’ll let you know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

