Skinny Artichoke Chicken, An Addicting Salad and Dessert!

Dinner last night turned out pretty amazing, even if I did “toast” the cheese instead of just melt it. Hadley ate all of hers, Truett ate all of the toppings and left the chicken (he’s going through a phase), and Brent convinced himself that one serving was enough. He did have two bowls of salad though.

This dinner was super easy and filling, so here is what I did. Take two chicken breasts and cut them in half horizontally. This makes cooking time faster and your portion smaller, without actually feeling smaller. I put them on a baking sheet lined with non-stick foil (I hate doing dishes) and spread about 2 Tablespoons of Artichoke Bruschetta on each one. The original recipe called for pesto, which the tube I had has 110 calories per 2 Tablespoons. This bruschetta has 30 calories per 2 Tablespoons. After they were covered up with bruschetta, I put them in the oven for 15 minutes on 400. Pulled them out, layered sliced Roma tomatoes on top and smothered them in shredded mozzarella, about as much as would stay on. Sprinkled with grated Parmesan and put back in the oven. Here is where it gets tricky. Both kids were running through the kitchen, Brent came through the back door, the dog was in the middle of it all and I totally left them in there too long. I just meant to melt the cheese, but it turned a little golden. Fortunately, we like it that way. If you don’t, pay more attention to your oven than what’s happening in your kitchen!

20130103-221213.jpg

I also made a salad that my friend Claire turned me on to. It is so good. She brought it for Christmas and I have already made it twice since then. It is actually the dressing that does it for me. The salad is mixed greens, feta, dried cranberries, and walnuts or candied walnuts. When you coat them in butter and sugar, salt and pepper, the walnuts are so sweet and spicy I could eat bowls of them without anything else. Tonight we had them plain, but I think I will try coating them in Splenda, salt, and pepper next time, to see how that tastes. So that’s the main salad. The dressing requires a little more effort, but if I can make it with both kids and the dog hovering under me, asking what each ingredient is and why and who named it that, you have a pretty good shot at getting it right.

In the food processor, pour in:
1/2 c Red Wine Vinegar
1/2 c EVOO
1/2 c chopped red onion
4 cloves of garlic
2 Tbsp granulated Splenda
1 tsp dried oregano
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 c fresh parsley sprigs

Blend everything in a food processor or blender. Thanks Claire!! You might notice I get a lot of recipes and tricks from her. She’s pretty great.

20130103-222220.jpg

Easy right? You will be so addicted to this it’s crazy. You might notice in my picture that you can’t see any of the other toppings. I am an over-dressinger, and yes, that is a word. Now last night I thought I had run out of red wine vinegar so I used tarragon vinegar and it was also very delicious. Later Brent found the Red Wine vinegar behind a canister on the top shelf. I am short and can’t even reach up there, I just pretend like everything on that shelf is lost and use other things.

After dinner I grabbed my food processor again and whipped up this yummy dessert that I saw online. I doubled it so I could have more tonight. This recipe is for 1 serving.

1/2 c cottage cheese
1 Tbsp sugar free cheesecake jello mix
1 packet Splenda or Truvia
Splash of almond milk

20130103-223104.jpg

Blend til it’s smooth! It is a quick protein packed, low calorie, low carb treat that you can eat and not feel bad about. I am a cheesecake lover, so this was great for me. I even cut up some fresh strawberries and had them with it. We also have some sugar free butterscotch jello mix I thought about trying it with as well.

So with a little effort, I made a delicious, super healthy meal that everyone ate. I spent maybe 45 minutes in the kitchen from prepping to sitting down at the table, and dessert took about 2 minutes.

Tonight I think we are having Salmon with roasted broccoli and whole grain brown rice. Not sure what the salmon will have on it yet, I’ll be doing some Pinterest research while I’m at the salon getting my hair done. Have a great day today!

Do you have a friend that you get lots of tips and tricks from?

What is your favorite “healthy” dessert?

Leave a Reply

