Zucchini Lasagna, Working out, and a New Book!

On Monday night we were supposed to have Zucchini Lasagna, but I didn’t realize that the ricotta in my fridge had gone bad, so instead, Brent picked us up some Chipotle salads, which were great. So after dinner I ran to the store for ricotta and came back to throw my lasagna together since everything else had been prepped and ready for hours. I put a lid on it and threw it in the fridge to cook last night. It turned out so great! My mom told me it would probably taste better, and once again, she was right. Twice in a week, on consecutive days, I might add. Anyway, it was so good, and my kids cleaned their plates!! Brent even said he is beginning to prefer it to lasagna with noodles, because it tastes so much better and is much more nutritional. Before baking… Look at all those layers! Mmmmmm…..

20130108-223056.jpg

20130108-223136.jpg

I got this recipe at http://www.skinnytaste.com, and changed it up to suit my family. I also did a little combining with my mom’s amazing canneloni recipe.

Ingredients:

1 lb turkey italian sausage

2 medium zucchini, sliced 1/8″ thick

1 Tbsp Sour Cream

favorite spaghetti sauce

16 oz frozen spinach

16 oz part-skim ricotta

16 oz part-skim mozzarella cheese, shredded

Directions: Use a mandolin to slice the zucchini very thin. Then lay it out on paper towels and sprinkle with grated parmesan cheese. 15 minutes later blot it with paper towels to remove excess moisture. Use these just like you would your lasagna noodles. Cook the sausage and drain. Cook the spinach according to the package directions and squeeze out all of the liquid when it cools. Mix meat, ricotta, spinach, half the mozzarella, and sour cream, into a large bowl and mix well. Pour a thin layer of spaghetti sauce on the bottom of a 9×9 dish so nothing sticks to it. Layer the zucchini, meat/cheese mixture, and sauce, repeat until your dish is full. Top with the remaining cheese. Cover with foil and bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutes. Then uncovered for the last 15 minutes.

After baking I like to let it rest for 10-15 minutes. I promise it will still be steaming hot, and also stay together better. This 9×9 pan makes 6 servings, each with 400 calories.

I also had training yesterday with my trainer, and my friend Alicia. He really kicked our butts. He knows I like boot camp style, and that is exactly what it felt like, and then we got to run sprints afterwards! He knows what I hate! But I am determined to get in the best shape I can! In doing this I have also adapted a 1200 calorie a day regime, so instead of all low carb (which I still don’t think is bad) I will be doing more low calorie foods from here on out. I keep a food journal on my phone, in the MyFitnessPal app. It helps me to see patterns in what I eat and the way I work out, and also helps to motivate me to lose these last few pounds. I will try to post more on what I’m eating or recipes I’m trying to stay full and not go over my calories. Like later today, I’m going to try and find time to make some banana oat protein cookies. They are large and have about a hundred calories a piece, and you can put things like peanut butter, nuts, berries, raisins, seeds, protein powder, and supplements in them to make them even better for you. Since I do not have training today, I will be doing 6-8 miles of cardio only.

On Monday I also began reading a new book (go me!). I almost never have time to read, but I really wanted this book and my mom got it for me for Christmas. It is A Year of Biblical Womanhood by Rachel Held Evans. Basically, Rachel is a writer and a strong Christian woman who decides that she is going to spend an entire year taking every command to women in the bible literally. Easy things like growing her hair out or learning to cook, as well as making her own clothes, rising before dawn, and camping out in the front yard while on her period. She is very witty, and I keep laughing out loud while I sit here and read at night. But Rachel is writing more about what God expects of us as women and mothers, as well as these biblical heroines and the women in the bible we don’t hear much about. It is really interesting, but also helping me to see how even in our culture today, many of God’s commands to women are still good to practice, as well just plain make us better. I’m looking forward to reading more of it. Brent is reading a book I got him for Christmas, Meat Eater by Stephen Rinella, and he really likes it. In almost 7 years, it is the first book I’ve seen him read more than a few chapters of. But it is about hunting, so I know it is keeping his interest.

Have a great day today!

Do you keep a food journal? All the time or just when you are trying to lose weight?

What is the best book you have read lately?

Leave a Reply

