Healthy Cookies for You…and Your Dog!

Yesterday I got a little ambitious while baking the Breakfast cookies, and decided to make our dog, Mox, some delicious homemade goodies as well. If you know us at all, you know we are a little obsessed with our yellow lab. He is almost two, and is by far the best dog we have had around our kids. He lets them climb all over him, stick their fingers in his eyes and ears, gives them kisses when they wake up and checks on them while they are sleeping. He is totally over protective of us, especially when Brent isn’t home, and follows us around with about a three-inch radius. He is trained to hunt with Brent, but I think his favorite thing is to be with the kids. Hadley even sleeps with a stuffed yellow lab, appropriately named ‘Baby Mox’.
Look at this face!

20130109-235515.jpg

I ran 6 miles at the gym this morning after I dropped Hadley off at school, and then came home and made a yummy turkey sandwich. Truett took a nap and I got in a super hot shower because it was cold and rainy outside. I decided after I picked up Hadley I would let her help me make the Banana Oat cookies I wanted to try, so I got everything out and ready. We came home and got Truett distracted enough that we could have a few minutes to stir everything together. They turned out great! She didn’t like them, but I’m going to play with the recipe and make a few others for her to try. Truett loved them, and so did Brent and I.

20130109-232050.jpg

Ingredients:
1 banana
1/2 cup of applesauce
2 Tablespoons peanut butter (crunchy or creamy)
1 1/2 cups of uncooked oats
1/4 cup of walnuts (chopped)
1/4 cup of dried cranberries
1 teaspoon of cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350. Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl (oats, nuts, cranberries, cinnamon) and set aside. Mash the banana, pour in the applesauce and peanut butter and mix. Pour in the dry ingredients and mix well. Drop on top a greased cookie sheet or one lined with parchment paper, press into a cookie shape, as these won’t fluff up, and bake for 30 minutes.

20130109-232702.jpg

Easy, huh? This recipe makes 12 large cookies, and each one has 100 calories. I’m thinking of adding flax seed in some, pumpkin, protein powder…my list goes on of a million variations. These have no flour, sugar, oil, butter, or eggs. Just healthy goodness!

This is when I started getting all ambitious and decided to make Mox these dog biscuits that I’ve wanted to make him for forever. Usually he gets a box of whatever looks good at the store, something crunchy for his teeth, but lets be honest, they never smell good. So I tried a recipe I found for Peanut Butter Oat biscuits. I even let him have some of the batter. If he only knew it was all good for him! 4 ingredients to these, super easy. Plus they are fresh, have no preservatives, and have natural ingredients.

1 1/2 cups of oats
1/2 cup peanut butter
2 cups of whole wheat flour
1 1/4 cup of hot water

Preheat oven to 350. Mix together, roll out onto a floured surface and knead, then use a rolling pin to get dough to about a half inch thick. I used cookie cutters to make shapes, but then I made some to look like little peanut butter cookies. Funny to me, Mox doesn’t care. However, Truett did take a bite out of one before I could get it away from him. He seemed to like it too! Anyway, bake these for 40 minutes, and then let them totally cool. They save in Tupperware for about a week at room temperature, 3 weeks in the fridge, or 6 months in the freezer. You could also add lots of things to these as well, flax seed, vitamins, pumpkin for digestion, etc. Mox will be a willing taste tester to be sure.

20130109-233707.jpg
Yes, I did buy adorable doggy cookie cutters for him.

20130109-233744.jpg

20130109-233749.jpg

These get nice and crunchy, and when Brent walked in he said the house smelled like peanut butter cookies and got excited! I almost handed him one, but he realized they were for Mox when he saw the shapes. I did taste the dough, and it really wasn’t bad. The dog obviously loved them. I would show you a picture of him eating one, but it would be a blur. And you can’t show him one and expect him be to still and look at it for a picture, he is a lab – they think they are starving all the time.

So after spending a couple of hours in the kitchen, the last thing I wanted to do was cook dinner, but I was planning on making Tilapia with rice and veggies. Brent had had such a busy day, we decided instead to head over to one of the best burger places we know – Flatire Burger. And of course, neither one of us got a burger!

20130109-234413.jpg

I got the Ahi Tuna Salad. It will probably be my new craving. The tuna sits on fresh mushrooms and cabbage, on top of fresh spinach. With tomatoes and a pineapple orange and jalapeño salsa on top, and the dressing was Wasabi Ranch. I could drink it with a straw. Might be the best salad I’ve ever had. Seriously. Brent had the Buffalo Chicken Salad, and Hadley and Truett did share a little kids burger. The food there is great. If you live in Edmond or OKC, head over their one night.

After the kids went to bed we watched one of my favorite shows, probably the funniest show on tv right now, Have you seen New Girl? If you haven’t, please watch it. We usually have to pause it and laugh or rewind it because we missed what they said because we were laughing too hard. It’s a feel good, hilarious show. I love when it shows up on my DVR!

I’m off to the gym this morning, another training session with Robbie, followed by a possible lunch in OKC if Brent isn’t too busy. Not much else planned today, so we’ll see what I can come up with!

What other things would you put in a healthy cookie?

Do you make special goodies for your pets?

What is your favorite show right now?

Leave a Reply

