Pre-Birthday Boots, More Breakfast Cookies, and a 350 Calorie Dinner My Kids Loved!

Another week down, and it’s time for the weekend! I am always looking forward to a little extra time with my hubby, and love when we are all together. Especially when we don’t have many plans.

Can I just say first, that Brent is the type of person, who if you get a card or present in the mail for birthday, holiday, whatever… He waits until the actual day of to open it. And tries to make me do it too! No way, not this present. My birthday present from my Mom came yesterday and there was no way I was waiting a week to open these!

20130110-224243.jpg
So cozy and warm, lambs wool inside, and don’t you just love the detailing on the outside!? Thank you, Mom!! These will for sure be my new favorite boots!

Yesterday morning I was telling Brent that I wanted to make a batch of the breakfast cookies with pumpkin in them, so while the kids napped I got to it. I made up my own recipe, so here it is.

1 cup of canned pumpkin
1/2 cup applesauce
1 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
2 scoops whey protein powder (chocolate)
4 Tablespoons chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. Mix the pumpkin and the applesauce together in one small bowl. Mix the oats, protein powder, and chocolate chips together in another. Combine the two and mix well. Drop onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. This don’t really ball up if you use your hands, so I just put a glob on the sheet with a spoon and then mashed it down into a cookie shape. If you read my blog at all, you know I don’t like messy hands. Bake for 30 minutes, let cool completely. Once these are cooked, they hold together just like a cookie, and are super moist.

20130110-230118.jpg

These are delicious!! They remind me of the Pumpkin Chocolate Chip cookies I made for Truett’s birthday party. I can’t wait to heat a couple of these up in the morning and have them with my coffee. Nutrition stats? Why, of course. 86 calories a piece and 4g of protein per cookie. Yup, you heard me. Have two or three!!

After I got the kitchen cleaned up from baking, the kids woke up and we played for a couple of hours before I had to start on dinner. I decided to go with an under 30 minute meal, and it was so good, and so filling. Brent loves red beans and rice, and I had a box in the cabinet. So I started that, which is 190 calories per serving. I had some tilapia thawed, and used salt-free Mrs. Dash seasoning, so no calories there, fish was 100 calories per filet. Then I had a bag of veggie steamers in the freezer, and that is 45 calories per serving. The rice cooked and I took it off the heat to let it thicken up, and I put the fish on. Tilapia does not take long to cook. Well seasoned and in just a smidge of EVOO, I cooked it through in about 6-7 minutes. During which time the veggies were in the microwave. Are you keeping track? That’s just under 350 calories for this plate.

20130110-230437.jpg

Look at how much food was on there! And it was so yummy. Both of my kids ate all of their fish and two helpings of rice. They ate their veggies but didn’t ask for more…hmm… Seriously, this is going on my list of easy-weeknight-low-cal meals. Needless to say, it was easy to stay at my 1200 calorie daily goal today with a dinner like this. Plus, I was really full!

Today is just a cardio day at the gym, so I will be doing 6-8 miles there, and then heading home for some leftover zucchini lasagna for lunch. And probably another cup of coffee! Happy Friday!!

Do you wait to open your presents until your birthday?

Will your kids eat fish? What will they NOT eat?

5 thoughts on “Pre-Birthday Boots, More Breakfast Cookies, and a 350 Calorie Dinner My Kids Loved!

  1. My husband makes me wait for my
    Birthday/Christmas/anniversary day before letting me open anything. Sometimes if I know I’m working , il plan something special the day before instead… Nope, not allowed, has to be on the actual day.

  2. Yes I really like to wait until my birthday to open up my presents. Usually my boyfriend gets super excited though and just wants to give me them early. I just like to wait and pack a punch of fun all into one day ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

