Oh Friday, You’re My Favorite!

Yesterday was kind of a bust, I just didn’t feel productive at all. I went to the gym and did 30 minutes of cardio before training, which was a lot of upper body workouts. Then I went back and did another 4 miles on the elliptical. Grabbed the kids from the kids club and Truett was looking like he wasn’t feeling so hot. He ate a little lunch, played a little bit and crashed out for a nap right after Hadley did. He slept for three hours and woke up about the same. I think it’s just allergies, maybe a little cold, but he is definitely not himself. And yes, he did have a flu shot.

Somehow I made dinner while he was trying to climb up my legs (Brent had class), and got a little chicken and veggies in him. I think today we’ll stick with soup. They played for a little bit while I made a dessert for Brent and I, some of the skinny cheesecake which I am still tweaking. This one ended up really well. 1 cup of Chobani Plain non-fat Greek yogurt, 2 Tbsp of Jello Sugar-free Fat-free Cheesecake pudding mix, and 2 Tbsp of water, all in the magic bullet until its creamy. Divided the cheesecake into two bowls (1/2 cup each), and put a half cup of sliced strawberries into each bowl. Drizzled it with a tablespoon of chocolate syrup and garnished with a half of a graham cracker. Tell me this doesn’t look amazing.

20130124-223446.jpg

How many calories for that giant bowl of deliciousness? 133, if you must know, with toppings. Just the cheesecake alone is only 75 calories per half cup. And 12 grams of protein.

20130124-224352.jpg

Hadley is still living on candy canes from Christmas, that’s the only thing she even wants right now. So I saved these til after the kids went to bed. The Graham cracker added a nice crunch, and chocolate and strawberries are pretty much a win however you use them.

I’m not sure what today holds, I guess I depends on how Tru feels. At least Brent will be home to help this weekend, but I’m counting on him feeling better by tomorrow. I can hope can’t I? The grocery store will be in there somewhere, but I have to finish my menu first. I do two weeks of planning at a time. I usually go back once a week for fresh vegetables at Sprouts, but I try to get everything I need to make at least 10 dinners, all breakfasts, and all lunches every two weeks. This has cut back on my grocery bill a ton. It takes me about an hour to plan a menu and make the list, so I guess I better get working!

Have a great weekend!

Do you make a weekly/bi-weekly menu?

Or do you buy groceries as you go?

Leave a Reply

