Buffalo Chicken Taquitos

Hello Monday, my weekend was not long enough! I had so much fun with my mom, sister, nieces and nephews this weekend. We got to go watch my oldest niece cheer at an NCA event in Oklahoma City. Hadley loved it, and kept asking about all the stunts and what they were doing, then she was telling me what teams she wanted to be on, what outfits she liked, and which bows she liked. It was pretty cute. Then yesterday we all went to church together and they drove back to Texas afterwards. Which meant it was time to get cooking.

We were heading to a Super Bowl party across the street so I decided to make a recipe I saw on Pinterest, Buffalo Chicken Taquitos. They turned out tasting delicious, but next time I will make a few changes.

20130203-213136.jpg

Her’s are way prettier than mine, but they still tasted great. Next time smaller tortillas will work better I think. Here is the recipe!

INGREDIENTS
4 cups chicken, cooked and shredded
12 soft taco, flour tortillas
2 cups mozzarella cheese, grated
4 ounces cream cheese
1/3 cup Frank’s hot sauce
1/3 cup milk
2 tablespoons butter
1 teaspoon Mrs. Dash
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon Cajun seasoning or cayenne pepper
2 tablespoons vegetable oil

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
In a small sauce pot over medium low heat, melt butter.
Add Mrs. Dash, garlic powder and Cajun seasoning. Stir to combine and cook for 1 minute.
Add cream cheese and stir until melted and completely combined with butter and spices.
Wisk in hot sauce and milk and simmer for 5 – 8 minutes. Add salt to taste.
Combine chicken and sauce.
Lay out a tortilla; fill with about ¼ – 1/3 cup chicken and 2 tablespoons of mozzarella cheese.
Tightly roll up taquito and place on a greased baking sheet; repeat until chicken is gone.
Brush taquitos with vegetable oil on all sides.
Bake for 15 – 18 minutes; rotate them every 5 minutes, until golden brown.
Serve with Blue Cheese Dressing and celery sticks.

Easy, but time consuming. Great for a party though! All the flavor of wings with none of the mess.

I tried a trick I saw online, you may have heard of it too. Shredding your chicken using a stand mixer? I thought it could work, but it could also be a disaster and make more for me to clean. I tried it, and I’m telling you what, it was like a magic trick! It took less than 10 seconds to get these 4 big chicken breasts from this…

20130203-213557.jpg

To this…

20130203-213836.jpg

I know!!!!! I wish I had gotten a video. Isn’t it weird the things we get excited about these days? I can’t wait to do this again… Like on Tuesday when I make quesadillas! You should try it. For a family who loves shredded chicken tacos, tortilla soup, and all kinds of other chicken dishes, this might just save our wrists from Carpal Tunnel.

Tonight for dinner, Stuffed Bell Peppers!

It’s a new week! What will you be doing?

Leave a Reply

