Cinnamon Roll Casserole Recipe

Yesterday was not my day. My allergies are killing me! About once a year I get down and out from an allergy attack, and this is it. Hadley had school, so instead of the gym I came back home and played with Truett. He took a long nap and so did I, and after we picked up Hadley in the afternoon we played outside for a few hours since it was 70 degrees! Brent had a ton going on at work, so instead of me cooking, he offered to pick up thai food. I’ll tell ya, I jumped at that! Not only to take a night off from cooking on a night I didn’t have any energy, but to have my favorite thai food? Yes, please! Brent has just lately become open to trying new foods, so im slowly broadening his tastebuds. He loves greek food and is ok with thai, which I like better than chinese for sure.

So anyway, I didnt make that Stuffed Bell Peppers recipe last night. Im still planning on it, but I think it will have to be on a weekend, as it takes about an hour and a half to cook. Thats hard to do when I’m by myself! Tonight we are having Skinny Chicken Quesadillas, which should be pretty easy, quick, and healthy.

Over the weekend I made a Cinnamon Roll Casserole for everyone before church, and it turned out amazing! This is a great recipe to feed as many people as you need because you can half it or double it pretty easily.

image

Doesn’t that look yummy!! And it isn’t as rich as cinnamon rolls. I can barely finish one because they are too sweet forz mme. And I like sweets. But because of the eggs and cream in this, I think it cuts some of the sweetness, but still tastes like a big delicious cinnamon roll!

image

Ingredients:
Cooking Spray
2 cans of Pillsbury Cinnamon Rolls
4 eggs
1/2 cup whole milk or heavy cream or half and half
1 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans (optional)
1/2 cup maple syrup

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 375 and spray a 9 X 13 casserole dish with cooking spray. Open the cinnamon rolls, set aside icing and cut each roll into 8 pieces. Place all cut rolls evenly into your pan. In a bowl, beat together eggs, milk, cinnamon, and vanilla. Pour evenly over cinnamon roll pieces. Drizzle syrup all over top. Sprinkle with chopped nuts and bake for 15-18 minutes until golden brown. Let it sit for 10 minutes after you pull it out of the oven. Then drizzle it with included icing. Serve Warm.

image

The only change I made was using almond extract instead of vanilla. And I didnt use the nuts, im not a fan of crunchy nuts in my soft and chewy things. I made this plus adding another half of the recipe. So I used 3 cans of cinnamon rolls, 6 eggs, 3/4 cup of half n half, ect. It served the 10 people in my house just about perfectly, with only 3 pieces leftover!

Today im still fighting these allergies, but the kids need out of the house! So we will be heading out to play at a local bounce house place. Im gonna wear them out!

Do you have a favorite breakfast casserole?

6 thoughts on “Cinnamon Roll Casserole Recipe

  1. I was at your house on Sunday morning and thoroughly enjoyed the cinnamon casserole. I wanted to eat the whole pan!
    My other favorite breakfast casserole (as you know) is the one I prepare for Thanksgiving morning or Christmas morning and has been a longtime favorite with my family, served with cinnamon monkey bread and fruit.
    Take a 9×12 casserole and spray with non-stick spray. Line the bottom of it with frozen shredded hashbrowns. Layer bacon or sausage, shredded cheddar cheese, onions and pour over scrambled eggs seasoned with salt and pepper. I usually use a dozen eggs. For optimal taste make it the night before and refrigerate. Bake at 350 for about an hour or until the eggs are set and the top is toasted. Yum!

    • Yes, yours is delicious! We like to add green chilis or sausage, or anything else you like for breakfast. If you want it to be really bad, pour gravy over it when its hot! Thats Brent’s favorite addition!

  2. That cinnamon roll casserole looks delicious but sadly, I won’t be making anything like that in the near future. I have no self control around things like that and especially cinnamon rolls. They are my fave!!! Easter might be a good time to splurge!!

Leave a Reply

