Banana Oatmeal Pancakes

Truett is waking up extra early these days and I am not sure why. I should take advantage of being up so early, but I have never been a morning person. I usually just grab some coffee and try to keep him quiet in the playroom so he doesn’t wake Hadley up.

The chicken quesadillas I made for dinner the other night were delicious and healthy, but not nearly as good as breakfast yesterday morning. For the quesadillas, I used two small (8″) whole wheat, high fiber tortillas, shredded chicken, bell peppers, and cheddar cheese. Topped with two tablespoons of sour cream, my whole dinner was 400 calories and very filling. 45 grams of protein and 24 grams of fiber as well. It was a quick and easy dinner, and who doesn’t love quesadillas? The trick to these was the tortillas, as well as measuring out a serving size of everything else.

For breakfast yesterday morning I made these:

20130206-125651.jpg

Big fluffy banana oatmeal pancakes! I played around with this recipe until it worked, but these have great flavor. I made them in the magic bullet, but you could put it in a blender or food processor too. Or you could go get a magic bullet if you don’t have one, I use mine every single day. Here is the recipe!

Ingredients:
1/2 half banana
2 egg whites
1/2 cup uncooked oats
3 Tbsp almond milk
A few drops of almond extract

Blend all ingredients until smooth and pour onto greased skillet. I used cooking spray. Cook just like pancakes! This batch is one serving and is 250 calories. If you have sugar free syrup, pour some on too! My syrup is 45 calories for a quarter cup, so my whole breakfast was under 300 calories. Plus everyone else liked them too.

Another breakfast I really like are these Jimmy Dean Delights breakfast sandwiches. So good and filling. I can almost always last til lunch with one of these.

20130207-091117.jpg

Brent had Super Dad’s Day at Hadley’s preschool yesterday morning as well, so they headed off for donuts and orange juice, which he said was the best 15 minutes he’s had in a long time. Truett and I went to the gym and he crashed afterwards so I did a Jillian Michaels DVD and picked up the house. It’s like every day I have a decision to make while he takes a nap – clean uninterrupted or take a shower. It’s hard!! He is obsessed with the dishwasher, so doing dishes while he is awake is not an option anymore. He loves the vacuum and wants to use it, so he just gets in the way, tries to climb on it and gets mad if you don’t give it to him. Is this sounding fun? I got in a quick rinse off before he woke up and we went to get Hadley from school.

Today I don’t know what we are doing! Gym, lunch, naps… Truett is getting an official haircut this afternoon too. I’m going to try not to cry, but I’m also not cutting it too short. We like our shaggy boy’s curls, but it’s in his eyes, and he has been called a “pretty girl” more times than Brent is comfortable with. It’s not like I dress him in pink either, dinosaurs, footballs, blue and green… Hadley was bald and wore monstrous bows every day. I don’t see how he looks like a girl!

What is your favorite healthy breakfast?

Did strangers ever think your child was the wrong gender?

Leave a Reply

