Chocolatey Dessert!

I loved the snow yesterday! Huge flakes that stuck around all day and made for really good snowballs. It was the first time Truett really saw snow, and the first time Hadley remembers seeing it. We made snowballs and threw them around the yard while the dog tried to catch them and rolled around in the snow. It was a really fun day!
image

image

For dinner I was going to make smoked sausage with greens, but Brent mentioned how he wished we had remembered to start some Green Chile Stew. It sounded so good, so we decided to nix the sausage and greens and head over to Rudy’s BBQ for some of their Green Chile Stew. If you haven’t had it, it is an awesome Stew. Very hearty, filling, thick and delicious! Lately we have been making ours with chicken, but they told me at Rudy’s that they use their smoked brisket in theirs. That must be why it tastes so good, smokey and rich. Yum! Well worth getting out in the cold for.

After the kids went to bed, we were craving something sweet, but I didn’t really have anything on hand. I thought of making some cheesecake pudding, but I really wanted chocolate, and the chocolate pudding mix I had said it was 160 calories per 1/2 cup serving. I decided to make the cheesecake pudding and add some cocoa powder to it.

20130212-223312.jpg
Ingredients:
1/2 cup Fage Plain 0% Greek Yogurt
1 1/2 cup Vanilla Unsweetened Almond Milk
1 box Fat-Free Sugar-Free Cheesecake Pudding Mix
1 Tablespoon Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
1-2 Splenda (optional)

Mix it all together and put it in the fridge while you slice up some berries for the top. A serving is 1/2 cup, which would only have 55 calories in it. I had two servings and two sliced strawberries, my bowl was 150 calories. It was so sweet and chocolate-y, and a great low fat, low calorie treat. And the 12g of protein was a bonus.

20130212-223955.jpg

20130212-224012.jpg

You can use any type of Greek yogurt, but I’ve found that Fage doesn’t have that aftertaste or dry your mouth out like some of the others.

Today I am going to the gym and then working on getting the house clean. I want it really clean before this weekend. My kids are going to spend the weekend with my mom, and I don’t want to do any chores while they are gone! I’m sure I will, but I can wish, right? Then Sunday instead of meeting my mom halfway to pick up the kids, we are just going on to her house for a few days. Brent has meetings in Dallas, so I am getting a spontaneous visit! Excited to see my best friend and her sweet baby, as well as do a little bowling with the fam.

The week is halfway over!

Do you have plans for Valentine’s Day?

Leave a Reply

