Back to Normal!!

Well it has been a while since I’ve written! I have definitely missed it, but the last week and a half have been pretty crazy.

On the Friday after Valentines day, we met my mom and her fiancé (Nana and Big Daddy) for dinner halfway between our houses and they took our kids back home with them so Brent and I could enjoy our anniversary weekend. Our youngest had a little cough and runny nose, but nothing too bad. We drove the hour and a half back to Oklahoma City and met some friends for drinks and it started snowing like crazy!! If you haven’t been keeping up with Oklahoma weather lately, this has been a crazy winter. It will be 65 during the day, and then snow at night some nights. Like yesterday, sunny and 70, and a winter storm is moving in this morning to drop 4-8 inches of snow. It will be back in the 60s and 70s next week. Weird! But that’s Oklahoma!

Anyway, over the course of the weekend I talked to my mom, who said the kids were both coughing, and Truett was taking extra naps, which means he wasn’t feeling great, but she assured me they were fine. So we went out to walk the lot where we are building our house, and found some really cool trees and a great place for a big garden. We headed to our dinner reservation at Opus Prime, which is a steakhouse in OKC. The food and service were great and it was a really cool building. Sunday morning we got up and went to church, and planned on leaving for Dallas soon afterwards. Brent had meetings a for a couple of days in Dallas, so I was just going to spend some time with my mom while he was at work and then come home with the kids mid-week. We dropped Mox off with our awesome friends who offered to dog-sit (who knows if they will ever offer again! He’s a crazy pup!), and made the drive. When we got there Truett was just not himself, and he woke up a few times during that night with a fever and the next morning we decided to take him to a pediatrician.

After being turned away, yes turned away, by 2 pediatricians offices because we weren’t going to become patients long term, my mom called in a favor to a doctor on the board of the foundation she works for. He got us in immediately and Truett tested positive for RSV. Ugh, it was awful. Fever, coughing, wheezing, runny nose, and just down right feeling horrible. We came home on Wednesday and by Friday he was feeling much better. But it was a rough week of wondering if he was hydrated enough, breathing ok, and keeping his fever down.

The pediatrician’s office we were at was Stonebridge Pediatrics, if anyone needs an amazing pediatrician in North Dallas. We were impressed with their office, staff, and doctors. Not only because they got us in immediately and thought it was ridiculous no one else would see us, but they were thorough, listened, and so great with the kids. Highly recommended!!

This passed weekend we said goodbye to some of our good friends who are moving to Texas. Hadley and Truett play really well with their three kids, and we are going to miss them!! We also had a game night with two other couples, and it was hilarious!!! Pictionary and Catch Phrase, plus a few pitchers of Sangria… makes for a night of memories!

Needless to say I havent done much cooking. I could barely get Truett to eat last week, and we were out of town the rest of it. Today is rainy and then its supposed to snow, so Brent requested Red Beans and Rice with Sausage. I was going to make it with quinoa, but would you believe my grocery store was sold out?? I plan on swinging in another one on my way home from the gym to see if they have any, otherwise I will just use brown rice. Surprisingly, red beans and rice isn’t as unhealthy as I originally thought, and my family shovels it in. The kids love it and it is a great easy meal for a snowy night. I also have some okra that I want to bake to have with it, or put in it, not sure yey. Then I’m thinking a movie, popcorn, and hot chocolate will be perfect for dessert.

Tomorrow night we are having a Pork Tenderloin with veggies, and that is as far as I’ve gotten on planning this week. I did get some whole wheat waffles at the store and they are really flavorful! I had one with bananas and peanut butter on top for breakfast. It was really yummy.

Have a great Monday!

What is your favorite game night game?

Do you have a comfort food that you always have on cold nights? Do you try making it healthier?

3 thoughts on “Back to Normal!!

  1. Any and all kinds of soup of my fave cold weather comfort foods!! I have a low fat chicken and dumpling recipe, chicken noodle soup and potato soup recipes that are standbys!!

    Glad that Truett is feeling much better!! I remember Liam having a bad case of bronchiolitis(RSV) when he was younger and we had to do breathing treatments for a week. Talk about fun!

Leave a Reply

