Whole Wheat Banana Bread with Yogurt

Halfway to the weekend people! I wish I had awesome pictures of lots of snow, and the cool crafts we did while we were stuck inside….but we barely got a dusting! I wouldn’t even call it that much because it wasn’t on the whole yard, just in some places. Needless to say, we were pretty disappointed when we woke up yesterday morning. So our day went on as usual, gym, lunch, play date, home, forgot to get the chicken out for dinner…awesome.

I had some super ripe bananas and a box of mix for banana nut bread, but when I saw that it was 200 calories per slice, ugh. I wasn’t very motivated to use it. I started doing trying to figure out other ingredients that could go in it and found some recipes I wanted to try. So I picked one and got started. The original called for sugar and milk, but I used Splenda and Almond milk. I also added a little almond extract because I didn’t have any nuts on hand but wanted the flavor? It turned out tasting so rich and delicious! Much better than the box mix ever turns out.

Ingredients:
1 3/4 cup Whole Wheat Flour
1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
2/3 cup of Splenda.
1/3 cup plain Greek yogurt (Fage 0%)
4 egg whites
2 tablespoons almond milk (or regular low fat milk)
1/4 teaspoon of almond extract
1 cup mashed ripe bananas
1/4 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Directions:
1. Stir together flour, baking powder and soda. Set aside.
2. With electric mixer, beat sugar and yogurt. Add eggs, one at a time, almond extract, and milk, beating until smooth after every new addition.
3. Add flour mixture and banana alternately to creamed mixture. Mix until it is blended, not extra. You don’t want to over mix it. Fold in nuts if you are using them.
4. Turn batter into lightly greased 8x4x2-inch loaf. Bake for 55-60 minutes at 350 degrees or until a toothpick comes out clean.

20130227-072402.jpg

This has 90 calories per serving, and there are 12. Compared to 200, ill take it. But it doesn’t taste low calorie AT ALL!! It has 18 grams of carbs, 4 grams of protein,and 2 grams of fiber per slice also, this is all better than the box mix too. I hope you’ll try making this one, it really is super easy, and everyone loves banana bread!

20130227-074702.jpg

Here is the original recipe.
Have a great day!

5 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Banana Bread with Yogurt

  1. I love banana bread! And I think it’s a wonderful idea to use almond milk in this one – will have to try that! πŸ˜€

      • Oh, me too! Once my son is no longer breastfeeding, I’m going to try almond milk as his milk. Does your son drink it?

      • Yes he does. He actually started drinking it at about 7 months, when everything else seemed to upset his stomach. He had horrible diapers all day long, and once we started him on strictly almond milk he did fantastic. We incorporated organic cows milk once he turned 1, and he has done fine with that too. So he has both.

Leave a Reply

