Garlic Dijon Herb Salmon with Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus

Last nights dinner turned out delicious!! Both of my kids ate all of their salmon, and then Truett ate part of mine and part of Brent’s. That kid is an eater! Hadley said the Dijon sauce was too spicy, but Truett ate his. I found this recipe over on Skinnytaste in the low carb section. She has some really great low carb recipes.

I have encouraged a few people to download the MyFitnessPal app on their phone, because it is a food and exercise tracker. It has more food in its database than any other app, including restaurants and grocery stores, even a barcode scanner. I logged all my food yesterday and it shows me the entire nutritional information for the day. Pretty interesting. It will help you with calories, carbs, sugar, fiber, anything you want to know. I have also learned that a low carb diet does not mean high fat or higher calories, those of you logging your food will see that you are probably eating less calories and fat grams than you were before.

Ok, so here is the recipe from dinner last night. Here is the original from Skinnytaste, which I followed exactly, I also used those frozen Salmon filets that you can get at the grocery store. They are easier and packaged in the correct portion. Not as good as fresh, obviously, but still good! I also couldn’t find Herbs de Provence at the store, so I looked up the ingredients and had almost all of them. I just made my own little herb mix. The instructions for the asparagus are in parentheses where I would suggest doing it.

Brent also threw together a quick salad with fresh spinach, cherry tomatoes, and feta. I squeezed some lemon juice on mine for dressing.

20130319-090512.jpg

Garlic Dijon Herb Salmon with Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus

Ingredients:
4 garlic cloves
1 tsp dried Herbs de Provence
1 tsp red wine vinegar
1 tsp olive oil
2 tbsp Dijon mustard
olive oil spray (I used my misto)
4 (6 oz) wild salmon fillets, 1″ thick (if frozen, thaw first)
salt and fresh ground pepper to taste
4 lemon wedges for serving

Directions:

In a mini food processor, or using a mortar and pestle mash garlic with the herbs, vinegar, oil, and Dijon mustard until it becomes a paste. Set aside. (Turn your broiler on high)

Season salmon with a pinch of salt and fresh pepper. Heat a grill or grill pan over high heat until hot. Spray the pan lightly with oil and reduce the heat to medium-low. Place the salmon on the hot grill pan and cook without moving for 5 minutes. (Place washed asparagus on a cookie sheet drizzled with EVOO and put under your broiler for 4-5 minutes.)

Turn and cook the other side for an additional 3-4 minutes spooning on half of the garlic herb mustard sauce. (Pull out the asparagus and divide into sections, using tongs, bundle and wrap a slice of prosciutto around each bundle. Place back in the oven for about 2 minutes. Then flip them over so all of the Prosciutto gets crispy.)

Turn and cook 1 more minute spooning the other side of the fish with remaining sauce. Turn once again and let the fish finish cooking about one more minute. (Pull out the asparagus!)
Note: the fish should have a total cooking time of about 9-10 minutes per inch. If your fish is thinner, reduce the total cooking time.

Transfer the fillets to plates and serve with fresh lemon wedges.

20130319-090402.jpg

Everything turned out really good! The calorie count, including the asparagus, prosciutto and salad, was about 450 calories and only 11 carbs.

This morning for breakfast I had 4 egg whites with some Cavender’s seasoning and a slice of cheese on top.
For lunch I will probably make tuna or chicken salad.
For dinner tonight Hadley chose Swedish meatballs over Spaghetti Squash, and I remembered to get the meat out to thaw! Go me! The kids will probably have theirs over pasta.
My snacks today will be string cheese, and maybe an EAS protein shake if I need something sweet. Sometimes I try to have a cup of coffee around 3 if I’m needed a sweet fix.

Have a great day today! I am off to the gym and then working on getting the house cleaned and on top of the laundry. Tomorrow we get to go to the design center and choose all of the interior features of the house! I’m so excited!!

Leave a Reply

