Swedish Meatballs over Spaghetti Squash

Yesterday I felt like I didn’t sit down at all! I did get a lot done, but because I have two little monsters in this house you can’t even tell. I got all the laundry washed and all but the kids stuff put away, vacuumed, dinner made, exercised the dog, plus my gym time. Usually my kids take their naps at the same time after lunch, but today Truett crashed early so when he woke up Hadley laid down. Makes for a less productive day, but he plays really well by himself too, which I think is important. I caught him inside our toy box with all of the toys thrown out, and snapped this picture.

20130319-205755.jpg

What a little stinker! So adorable though, he just melts my heart with his mischievous little looks!

Last night for dinner I made Swedish Meatballs over spaghetti squash. Here is what a spaghetti squash looks like, for those of you who have never had it!

20130319-213553.jpg

Brent had two bowls. Both the kids had seconds too! I mean, this was such a great recipe. The flavors are amazing and the gravy is to die for. Plus a whole serving has about 6 net carbs. Of course, I got the recipe from Skinnytaste, but I did change it just a hair. Here is the original recipe. The original calls for Panko breadcrumbs, but instead I used grated Parmesan cheese. It has the same texture and zero carbs because its cheese! And I think it has more flavor than breadcrumbs.

Ingredients:
1 Spaghetti Squash (by the potatoes in the produce section)
1 tsp olive oil
1 small onion, minced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 celery stalk, minced
1/4 cup minced parsley
1 lb 93% lean beef
1 egg
1/4 cup grated Parmesan
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 tsp allspice
2 cups reduced sodium beef stock
2 oz cream cheese

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 425, cut the spaghetti squash in half and scrape out the seeds. Rub some EVOO on the edges and in the middle. Put the squash cut side up in a baking dish with about a half inch of water in the bottom of the dish. Cook for 35-45 minutes, or until the meat pull apart like noodles.
In a large deep sauté pan, heat oil on medium heat, add onions and garlic; sauté until onions are translucent, about 4-5 minutes. Add celery and parsley and cook until soft, about 3-4 more minutes. Let cool a few minutes.
In a large bowl combine beef, egg, onion mixture, Parmesan, salt, pepper and allspice. Mix well and form meatballs with your hands 1/8 cup each (fill 1/4 cup then divide the meat in half).
Add beef stock to the pan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and slowly drop meatballs into the broth. Cover and cook about 20 minutes. Remove the meatballs with a slotted spoon and set aside in a serving dish. Strain the stock, add to blender with cream cheese and pulse until smooth (If you don’t have much stock left, add another cup or two to your strained broth first). Return to pan and simmer a few minutes to thicken, then pour over meatballs. Garnish with parsley and serve over a cup of spaghetti squash. There are no leftovers 😦

20130319-213048.jpg

Nutrition wise, this is about 215 calories and 2.5 carbs for 5 meatballs and sauce. One cup of spaghetti squash has 71 calories and 4 net carbs. So the whole meal is 6.5 net carbs! Plus low calorie and really really tasty.

This was the easiest way to make meatballs, they were juicy and cooked through completely. Plus with all the other ingredients, they tasted so good! There are all kinds of vegetables you could sneak in these things. I might try spinach next time, grated zucchini, who knows! And the sauce… Oh man the flavor of the sauce was delicious. So rich and creamy, and half of a carb per serving! Beef broth and cream cheese, I would have never thought of it. But this will be my go too brown gravy from now on! Brent also raved about the spaghetti squash. He says he prefers it to the Shirataki noodles (which is great because they are expensive!) and wants to have it again this week. We went outside after dinner to play in the cul de sac, and my neighbor said, “What smells so good? Is that you? What did you make for dinner?” I definitely smelled like meatballs, but at least it was good!

This morning our amazing babysitter Kelly is coming over to keep the kids while we go to the design center for our house. I’ll be heading to the gym after we get back this afternoon, and for dinner tonight will be something super easy. Okra and Tomatoes with Sausage – Yum!

Food for today-
Breakfast: scrambled eggs with cheese
Morning snack: Atkins bar – yum!
Lunch: not sure, we will be out, I’ll update after.
Afternoon snack: protein shake
Dinner: Okra and tomatoes with sausage

4 thoughts on “Swedish Meatballs over Spaghetti Squash

  1. Oh I have so many days where the only time I sit is for lunch and to blog, but otherwise I am on the move! Your son is so, so cute in that photo!! How old is he? I have an 18 month old stinker. 😉

    • He is 16 months! More trouble than I can handle!! Today he laid in the yard with our dog and rolled around in the dirt and mud. Then ran in the house while my daughter ran from him because she didn’t want to get dirty, ha!

      • LOL! That’s a boy for ya. Samuel was playing int he mud the other afternoon and having a lovely time as well. I plan those times around his bath for the day! 😉

  2. Hey Britt,
    I made the Garlic Dijon Herb Salmon with the Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus last night for dinner. We had a friend over and everyone loved it! I’m so proud of you!!
    Thank you for sharing your recipes.
    MOM

Leave a Reply

