Cookies with only 16 calories? Yes, Please!

Yesterday was one of those days where I was just glad to get to bed and start over in the morning. Not for any particular reason, just that I was a little off all day, the kids didn’t take great naps, and Brent was frustrated with work. It all just came together as a big mess and I was glad when I got in my comfies on the couch. But before I did that I had promised Hadley I would make cookies. Cookies and I have a love/hate relationship. I have almost no will power when it comes to delicious cookies in my house, which makes me also hate them. I saw a recipe on Skinnytaste (where else?) for Black and White Chocolate Chip Clouds, and I had been wanting to try it, so I thought it might be a good night for it. This is a meringue cookie, and makes for a testy recipe. I think I over whipped the meringue a bit, but I was wrangling both kids who were trying to help, and they aren’t just helpers, they are over-helpers. Hadley didn’t want me to turn off the mixer, and Truett kept throwing goldfish all over the kitchen. I finally broke out the chocolate chips as payment for being still, and it worked long enough for me to get the cookies on the baking sheets. If you look at the recipe on skinnytaste, hers were much more flowy than mine, but they have a delicious flavor. Just gives me an excuse to keep making them!
She made hers with sugar, which may have been the difference in texture, because I used Splenda. It cut out about 400 calories and 100 carbs from the recipe by using Splenda. Well worth a little different texture. My recipe made 36 cookies, each one being 16 (yes, 16!!) calories and 2 carbs. Those carbs are from the chocolate chips. I looked online and found some chocolate bars made by a company that are sugar free, so I’m looking forward to trying those. I could crush them up and substitute them for the chocolate chips to cut back even more.

Here is the original recipe.

Here is how I made it.

Low Carb Black and White Clouds

Ingredients:
3 egg whites
1/8 tsp Cream of Tartar
1/2 cup of Splenda
1 tsp Almond or Vanilla extract
1/2 cup white chocolate chips
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions:
Heat oven to 300°F. Cover cookie sheet with nonstick silicone pad or parchment paper.
Using a mixer, beat the egg whites and cream of tartar together in large bowl at high speed until soft peaks form. Gradually add sugar a little at a time, then vanilla, beating well after each addition until you get stiff peaks, the sugar is dissolved and the mixture is glossy.
Fold in chocolate chips. Drop mixture by tablespoons onto cookie sheet.
Bake 35 to 45 minutes or just until dry. Cool slightly; remove from cookie sheet. Cool completely on wire rack. Store covered, at room temperature.

20130322-232701.jpg

Like I said, they don’t look the same as the ones on Skinnytaste, but Brent hasn’t stopped eating them since I pulled them out of the oven. I’m pretty sure there are only half left. They really do taste great, and he said he was surprised!! Like I’m going to make something awful? Man, you would think after as much cooking as I have done, and as few leftovers as we ever have, he would have a little more faith in me! And cookies are my forte! Before we went to bed he already told me to make another batch. Ha! Guess I will be doing that this weekend!

Off to the gym, have a great weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

