Spaghetti Squash Pesto with Chicken

This weekend was very low key, and it was so nice! I love a non-busy weekend. Saturday we all went to the gym and then out to our lot to look at the next lot over. They just had their foundation poured and we wanted to see their slope and how the lot looked, since ours will be similar. We have plans to terrace the backyard and flatten out the lower part, and I think it will work out well. Brent also had to go in and confirm that we did want the upgraded dishwasher (YAY!!!). After naps we went to Kohl’s because they were having a great sale, as usual, and I finally find a shirt to go with my floral jeans.

For dinner I was going to make the Spaghetti Squash Pesto with Chicken, but Brent was craving a burger so we went out. I ordered Grilled Tilapia and two sides of steamed veggies, with a house salad. Always double up on veggies when you are out to eat! For example, one night we went to a Mexican place, and I ordered the chicken fajitas, extra veggies, with no beans or rice, and no tortillas. I put cheese, sour cream and salsa on top and it was delish! A yummy way to enjoy Mexican without any extra calories or carbs. As long as you can resist the chips and tortillas!

After church we came home and had lunch, cleaned a little during naps, and then I finally made the Spaghetti Squash dish. It turned out great!

20130325-122227.jpg

Hadley ate all of hers, Brent had two bowls, and Truett ate his plus some cantaloupe.

Spaghetti Squash Pesto with Chicken

Ingredients
1 large Spaghetti Squash
1 jar/tube of Pesto
2-3 Chicken Breasts
3 Tablespoons of EVOO
Italian Seasoning
Grape or Cherry tomatoes (optional)
Black olives (optional)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 425. Cut the squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Rub 1 Tbsp of EVOO on each half of the exposed meat. Lay the squash cut side up in a baking dish and pour water in the bottom of the dish until there is about a half an inch. Place in the oven for 35-45 minutes.
The chicken you can cook however you would like, slice and cook in a pan, grill, bake, whatever way you like it. I put some EVOO in a pan, seasoned the chicken with Italian seasoning and cooked it through. Easy and quick!
When the squash is tender, pull it out, shredd it and put it in a big bowl. Toss in your pesto, most likely all of it, but as much as you think you like. I used the whole tube. Toss together until mixed evenly. Cut the tomatoes in quarters, open the black olives and toss with the pesto if you are using them. Slice the chicken and place it on top. Serve it up!

20130325-123639.jpg

Halfway through dinner Brent pulled out the feta and we all topped it off, and let me say, make sure you use feta! it completed the dish perfectly. There is another dish that I’ve always made with bowtie pasta and pesto with Italian sausage. I can’t wait to make it with Spaghetti Squash instead! It has artichokes, black olives, tomatoes… Yum! I actually did have one serving of leftovers I got to have for lunch today. I was pretty excited about it!

Calories are about 450 for one cup of the squash with pesto and one cup of chicken. And 9 carbs for the whole dish. Look at the pesto you use, some of them have more carbs than others depending on what they use. I found a tube at the store that I prefer, and it has 1 carb and .7g of fiber per serving. So .3 carbs per serving is practically nothing!

Since last Monday I am down 5 pounds, which is right on track and I’m happy with it. Some of the other people doing this with me are down 5 and 6 pounds as well today!! Stick with it!!

Today’s menu:
Breakfast: 2 eggs and 2 egg whites – 0 carbs
Morning snack: Amino Uptake – 2 carbs
Lunch: Spaghetti Squash Pesto with Chicken and Tomatoes – 9 carbs
Afternoon Snack : coffee – 0 carbs
Dinner: Salmon with Sautéed Brussel Sprouts and Lemon Garlic Aioli – 5 carbs
Dessert: Meringue cookies or Atkins bar – 3 Carbs

Total for the day: 19!

Leave a Reply

