Salmon and Sautéed Brussel Sprouts with Lemon Garlic Aioli

First of all, I am down another pound today! Yay! 6 since last Monday. Sticking to it gets results, and moderation keeps them. Even though Truett didn’t sleep very well and I am dragging a bit, weighing myself this morning put me in a great mood!! I will put in a good workout this morning and hopefully get a few things accomplished today.

Obviously, we eat a lot of fish around here. I try to have at least two meals a week with fish, but preferably 4 or more. I love it, it’s good for you, and you can really do anything with it. Yesterday I couldn’t think of anything to have for dinner, but those brussel sprouts had to be cooked. I had some salmon in the freezer, so I decided on a Lemon Garlic Aioli sauce for all of it.

Normally I would have quartered or halved the brussel sprouts, but tonight for whatever reason I thought I would take them apart and sauté them that way. It took forever to pull them apart. Next time I will chop or shred them. But they tasted great!

Salmon and Sautéed Brussel Sprouts with Lemon Garlic Aioli

20130325-210357.jpg
Ingredients:
4 Salmon Filets (4oz.)
1 pound Brussel sprouts
1 shallot or 3 green onions
1-2 Tbsp minced garlic
Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper

For the Aioli:
2 Tbsp mayo
2 Tbsp lemon juice
2 Tbsp minced garlic
2 tsp dried or fresh parsley

Directions:
Chop or shred the brussel sprouts completely before anything else. Drizzle a pan with some EVOO and let it get hot. Slice up the shallot or green onions and put in the oil for a minute or two. Throw in the minced garlic and let it it all cook together for about 2 minutes. Then put the brussel sprouts in the pan and sauté until they are bright green and wilted. I like mine a little crispy on the edges so I cooked them for about 10 minutes on medium heat.

For the Salmon, I cooked it the same way as the other night. Heat some oil, salt and pepper the filets, and place them in the skillet and leave them for 5 minutes. Flip them over and cook for about 3 minutes, and then another minute on the other side. Put the filets in as you put in the sprouts.

For the aioli, make this during the first half of the salmon cooking time. I used a magic bullet, but you could whisk or blend it as well. Just mix all the ingredients well and pour it over top. Hadley kept asking for more and more sauce, she loved it on her salmon and sprouts, even had seconds of salmon. Truett picked up his filet and ate it with his hands. He didn’t like the sprouts so he got a banana. Brent and I finished everything that was left, no leftovers again!

Calories for dinner were right about 350, and carbs were only 6!

While I was cooking, the kids were playing amazingly well together in the playroom. Hadley came and asked if I could get her a book so she could read to Truett. I’m thinking, adorable! I walk in the playroom to see them like this:

20130325-213126.jpg

They were covered in marker! I said, oh my! Did you know you have marker everywhere? And Hadley said yes, I drew stripes on us because we want to be tigers! I thought, ok, a creative and honest answer! Got them some books and they played in there until dinner was ready. They really stinking love each other and I will be sad when they start fighting. Everyone tells me it’s inevitable but I am just going to pretend like it will always be this way!

After dinner I realized I barely had any carbs! And I really hadn’t had enough calories either, because I had been so busy all day. I made Mox some more Peanut Butter and Oat dog biscuits, and Brent some more meringue cookies before I got started on dinner. We decided to head out for frozen yogurt! The place by out house has low carb froyo! I had German Chocolate Cake with salted almonds on top. Man was it good. And only about 7 carbs!

Hadley doesn’t have school today, so we are off to the gym and then to run a few errands after lunch. Hopefully it will warm up enough that we can get some outside time in, but man it was cold yesterday! Also I get to start getting my house in order for this coming weekend, family coming in and friends joining us for Easter dinner. Need to plan that menu as well! There are lots of fun things planned for the weekend, I need the weather to hold out and not rain!!

Todays food:
Breakfast: 2 eggs, 2 egg whites, a slice of prosciutto, and cheese on top. 2 carbs
Lunch: Eggplant pizza! Sliced eggplant with pesto and mozzarella broiled til bubbly. 5 carbs
Afternoon snack: meringue cookies
Dinner: not sure yet!

What are you cooking for Easter?

Will you be altering your menu and only having healthy food? Or sticking to the favorites?

2 thoughts on “Salmon and Sautéed Brussel Sprouts with Lemon Garlic Aioli

  1. Ok, this looks amazing! I just gave the list to hubby to get the shopping and I think I’m going to attempt this tonight, or maybe tomoro if I’m home too late tonight. Il let you know how it goes! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

