Remembering My Dad and My Easter Menu

Lots going on today! Getting things ready for company, figuring out what everyone is going to wear for Easter, making the grocery list, all while the kids get out every toy in the playroom and scatter them all over the house. Argh! Have you seen the picture that says “cleaning with a toddler in the house is like brushing your teeth while eating oreos.” This is 100% true. I’ve given up for today and will just get it done after they go to sleep tonight!

Today also marks the nine year anniversary of my dad passing away. Crazy that it has been so long, it really feels like just yesterday. This morning I made Hadley the breakfast that he always made me, cinnamon toast. I told her it was a treat and one day she would learn all about her Papa. One of my good friends from childhood text me earlier to say she was thinking about me, and that she had been thinking about Dad’s cinnamon toast! So funny that I made it this morning. He is obviously still around! I’m trying hard not to get down today and keeping myself busy. I really do miss him and wish he could meet Brent and my kids. One day he will, and I know he watches over us, but it’s still really hard to be without my dad. Even though you move forward, it never gets easier. The more life events that happen the more I miss him, but it at least turns into a ‘happy miss’ rather than a ‘sad miss’. Thank God for my mom, who has helped me get my life together after he passed away and keep it that way. And for Brent who stepped up and immediately took the place of supporter and provider. I am so lucky to have a close, strong family. Although it feels like we are continually tested, we are getting closer as the years go by.

Anyway, wiping the tears and moving on to happier thoughts. Last night I made the same Swedish Meatball recipe from last week (at Hadley’s request), but I didnt have a spaghetti squash. I had zucchini so I used a vegetable peeler and shaved it like fettucine noodles. I loved it! Tasted great with the meatballs and sauce. After I shaved it I just sauteed it in a pan with a little evoo.

image

Here is the recipe for the Swedish Meatballs. Last night I also used venison instead of beef like last week. Both taste great!! I am seriously addicted to these and had them again for lunch today. Truett practically ate his weight in them last night as well. I had to cut the kids off so there would be enough for Brent when he got home. Using spaghetti squash or zucchini is an awesome way to cut calories and/or carbs, but still making your meal have lots of flavor. My dinner (and lunch) only had about 5 carbs. Dont forget to also use grated parmesan instead of breadcrumbs in your meatballs!

image

As promised, I am posting my Easter menu. Everything I’m making is low carb and low calorie, but I promise will not taste that way!!

Deviled Eggs
Spinach and Bacon Stuffed Mushrooms
Cauliflower Au Gratin
Green Vegetable (to be decided)
Salad
Paleo Bread
Ham
Smoked Leg of Lamb
Coconut Macaroons

Some of the others coming may bring other things as well.

I am preparing to stay as close to eating the way I have been on Easter, but I am also going to enjoy myself and all the goodies. Last night I found a recipe for Bananas Foster French Toast, which Brent promptly said he wanted Easter morning. It is sooooo bad for you! But what’s a holiday without a treat? I may also make low carb pancakes and fill them like cheese blintzes (ricotta, cream cheese and strawberries), so that I don’t eat so much of the french toast. There are always ways to have a little of something good balanced with something else healthy and delicious.

Today’s food:
Breakfast: 1/2 cup cottage cheese – 6 carbs
Lunch: leftover Swedish Meatballs and Zucchini – 5 carbs
Snack – Atkins Bar – 2 carbs
Dinner – Chargrilled Chicken Salad at Chikfila – 7 carbs

Do you need help making a recipe you love ‘low carb’ for Easter? Or any other day for that matter?

4 thoughts on “Remembering My Dad and My Easter Menu

  1. Good girl for sticking to this new lifestyle, even on a holiday!! While I certainly do not mind low carb foods, I could never live that way long term. I like my bread too much. I however, do admire your dedication!!

    • Thanks girl! I really just feel better when I’m eating this way. I have some friends who eat the Paleo diet, and its very similar. They all say the same things, overall sense of well being, skin is better, able to get leaner, lots of benefits. And I think its fun modifying recipes to make them better.

Leave a Reply

