Coconut Macaroons

Yesterday afternoon we had out last meeting without builder before they pour the foundation. Which is so exciting!! We cannot wait to see the house going up, and even more impatient to get moved in. Unfortunately it started raining today, and will continue tomorrow. Blah. That pushes us off about a week, because they need at least 4-5 days of no rain for the ground to dry enough to pour the foundation. So right now we are hoping for next Monday or Tuesday. As much as we need rain, if it could just wait until the foundation is poured!!

Today we are hanging out with Brent’s mom, and meeting Brent for lunch before she has to go to the airport.

For Easter dinner, the food really turned out well. I was happy about it, because I know it’s hard going to someone’s house for dinner who you know tries to eat really healthy, and you are wondering if the food is going to taste better than cardboard. Proud to say ours was! Plus I didn’t really cheat and I got to have some great food on a holiday! Well, except for that large glass of wine. 😉

I started cooking for dinner at about 10 am. I wanted to get everything I could done so I could relax and enjoy my friends and family. The great thing about these recipes is that they are like that. I made the Coconut Macaroons first.

20130402-071545.jpg
Look how cute they are! A lot of comments on this recipe, which is from Skinnytaste, were having problems with them, so I got a little nervous, as this was the first time making macaroons.

The original recipe calls for sugar, which I am not eating, so I subbed in granulated Splenda. I found that I cooked it longer in the skillet, but maybe it was because I wasn’t sure what it was supposed to look like when I pulled it off the heat. Either way, it worked out. Gina, from Skinnytaste, uses sweetened coconut flakes. i really wanted to use unsweetened and looked at 3 stores, but I couldn’t find them. I am going to keep looking, because subbing the sugar for splenda and sweetened coconut for unsweetened, it cuts the carbs to all but non-existent. Less than one per cookie! And the original recipe also says that it makes 38 cookies, mine made 30. So I think it varies a little. Is a great recipe!

Ingredients:
3/4 cup (or 5 large) egg whites
2/3 cup Splenda
10 oz coconut flakes
1/2 tsp almond extract
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
Pinch of salt

Directions:
In a saucepan combine egg whites, sugar and coconut and cook over medium-low heat, stirring frequently until all the ingredients combine together, about 12-15 minutes. The mixture should be sticky and moist, not dry. Remove from heat and stir in the salt, almond and vanilla extracts. Set aside on a dish and let it cool in the refrigerator about 30 minutes.
Preheat the oven to 300°. Using a tablespoon, scoop tightly packed tablespoonfuls onto a baking sheet covered with parchment paper.
Cook for 27-30 minutes or until golden.

20130402-082852.jpg

I drizzled mine with some melted chocolate chips, not as pretty as I wanted them to be, but it sure tasted good! I made 30 and they were gone within 24 hours, so that tells you something! Next time I will use unsweetened coconut and adjust the Splenda if needed. These would be great for a shower or brunch, and no one would know they weren’t full of sugar!

Leave a Reply

