Spinach and Bacon Stuffed Mushrooms

It feels so good to be back at the gym this morning, and yes, I am blogging while on the elliptical. I finished my run on the treadmill, will do an interval course on here, and then downstairs to do some circuit training. I didn’t make it in yesterday because Truett wasn’t feeling great and it was our last day with my mother-in-law. We played at home, met Brent for lunch and headed to the airport. It was pouring, started hailing, and I had never driven to our airport by myself. My family and close friends know, something about airports just really stresses me out. There are so many cars, everyone is impatient, and there are so many roads and splits and ways to get turned around. Not the biggest fan of flying either, but I will do it.

We are still eating on leftovers from Easter, so that’s what we had for dinner. Which is also what I am having for lunch! Not sure what is for dinner tonight yet, since Brent has his midterm in Political Science and won’t be home until later. It will be healthy, I assure you! I have been sticking to eating healthy and low carb, but that dang Easter candy keeps making its way in front of me! No more! As usual, my goal over any holiday or family visit is not to lose weight, but to maintain. It gives me the confidence to know that I can maintain myself long term. So back at it hard today!

Breakfast: Low Carb Pancakes with Sugar-free Syrup – 2 carbs
Lunch: Spinach and Bacon Stuffed Mushrooms and Lamb – 5 carbs
Afternoon Snack: Sliced Cheese and veggies – 4 carbs
Dinner: not sure yet!

I will be eating the last of the stuffed mushrooms today, and they are sooo good. They would be a great appetizer, but also are perfect as a side.

image

Aren’t they pretty?? And super easy. Plus you use every part of the mushroom, rather than throwing away the stems. This is another one from Skinnytaste, but i did change it to make it even lower carb. Here is the original recipe, and here is the way I made it.

Ingredient
14 oz (1 package) fresh mushrooms, stems separated
2 garlic cloves, sliced thin
4 cups fresh baby spinach or 3 cups of frozen spinach
4 slices center cut bacon
1 tsp olive oil
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
2 tbsp shredded Parmesan cheese
Olive oil cooking spray
Remove the stems from the mushroom cap and mince fine. I put mine in the food processor.

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400°F. Lightly spray a foil lined baking pan or baking dish with cooking spray.
Remove stems from mushrooms and mince fine. I put mine in the food processor. Cook the spinach (I used frozen) and squeeze out all the excess moisture. Cook the bacon and lay it on paper towels to soak up any grease. Then chop it coarsely.
Put a tbsp of oil in the pan and saute the garlic for about 2 minutes, then throw in the minced mushroom stems and cook them for about 2 minutes as well. Remove from heat.
Mix minced mushrooms, bacon, spinach, grated parmesan, and shredded parmesan. Mix well.
Season the mushroom caps with salt and pepper, then generously fill them with the filling. Spray the tops with olive oil spray before baking. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden!

I made this filling ahead of time, while I had the cookies in the oven. Then just filled the mushrooms and put them in the oven 20 minutes before we were ready to eat. They had awesome flavor!!

image

I doubled the recipe since there were so many of us. These have about 30 calories each and 1.5 carbs. Yummy and healthy!!

Leave a Reply

