Where did all the cookies go??

Let me tell you about the cookies I made this weekend!!! They we A-MAZ-ING.

First, we had a super fun weekend, lots of friends, church, and a trip to meet Mom and John in between houses for dinner. Those hold me over when I’m not able to see my mom every few weeks. Hadley had her first trip to Chuck E. Cheese, which she talked about until she fell asleep last night.

Saturday night for dinner I cooked some italian turkey sausage, and tossed it with artichoke hearts, black olives, cherry tomatoes, spaghetti squash and pesto. It was so good, I cant wait to have it for lunch today.

image

Don’t you like my paper plates? I HATE doing dishes. This was an easy dinner that is very nutritional and low in calories and carbohydrates, which is good for an evening meal!

So then I turned to making cookies. These are completely sugar free and only have .8 carbs per cookie. You read right. Brent ate 3 right out of the oven. I was out most of the day yesterday and when I asked him if there were any left he said he wasn’t sure, even though he was the only one home. I made two dozen, and there are like 5 left! I would say thats a good recommendation. Pretty sure I’m just going to have to keep making these like crazy. I even gave some to my neighbor to try (she is trying to lose the last few pounds for her upcoming wedding) and she keeps texting me for more!

They have almond flour, baking soda, salt, sugar free maple syrup, sugar free chocolate chips, and grapeseed oil. I like this recipe because there are a lot of different ways to make these. You can really use any kind of oil, coconut, canola, grapeseed, etc. And for sweetener you can use anything as well, brown sugar, honey, maple syrup, chocolate syrup, really anything. I was trying to make them completely sugar free, so I went with sugar free maple syrup. They had this almost caramely flavor to them with it, stayed very moist, and I might top some with some sea salt next time. The sugar free chocolate chips taste just like regular chocolate, addicting and rich.
These have 125 calories, 2g of protein and .8 carbohydrates per cookie. And these are not small cookies. I found this recipe at The Cinnamon Quill, and made it exactly how she said, except used sugar free versions of sweetener and chocolate!

image

Elana’s Pantry Chocolate Chip Cookies

Original source: Elana’s Pantry
Substitution notes by CinnamonQuill
1 1/4 cups blanched almond flour (no substitutes)
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup agave nectar, or honey or maple syrup or rice syrup or brown sugar*
1/4 cup grapeseed oil or canola or melted coconut oil**
1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/4-1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions: I combine all ingredients, except the chocolate chips, in a medium bowl. Mix well. Depending on which sweetener you’ve used, dough may be a bit wet. Add desired amount of chocolate chips, and incorporate. Next, refrigerate for 20ish minutes. Preheat oven to 350F. On parchment-lined baking sheet, drop round (generous) tablespoonfuls of dough, spacing 2 inches apart. If dough seems dry and rigid, flatten a bit. If you like ultra chewy cookies, flatten dough into discs before baking.Bake for 7-9 minutes, until lightly golden (If you like crisper cookies, bake 9-10 minutes.). Let cool on baking sheet for 10-20 minutes, until set.Yields about 12 2-3″ cookies. Recipe may be doubled. Dough may be stored in refrigerator for 2-3 days, until ready to bake. Store cookies in airtight container, up to a week.

*Sweetener guide:
-Agave nectar makes dough that is very wet, and cookies spread a lot, resulting in soft and chewy cookies. The flavor is mild and slightly floral.-Honey yields a very good taste and level of sweetness. It is what I use most often.-Maple syrup adds a slight caramel quality to the taste, and crackles the tops of the cookies a bit.-Rice syrup works well, though may be considered slightly under-sweet by some. I happen to like under-sweet cookies, but if you don’t, opt for another choice.-Brown sugar (light or dark) can also be used, though dough will be vdrier; be sure to flatten cookies prior to baking.-A combination of the above sweeteners also works well; use what you have!

**Oil:
-Elana calls for grapeseed oil, but again, I often don’t have it in my pantry, so I’ve tried other oils, including canola, and melted coconut, both with good results. I generally use about three tablespoons of canola oil + 1 tablespoon of mild-flavored olive oil.

image

image

Big delicious fluffy chocolate chip cookies! And you dont have to feel guilty AT ALL.
P.S. I’m down 10 pounds total in three weeks from sticking to my low carb lifestyle!

Today’s food:
Breakfast: Egg whites and cheddar cheese – 2 carbs
Lunch: Spaghetti Squash with Italian Sausage – 8 carbs
Afternoon snack: cookies! 2 carbs
Dinner: Fire Roasted Bacon Meatloaf and broccoli

How was your weekend?

Do you have a dessert you would like to make healthier?

4 thoughts on “Where did all the cookies go??

  1. Way to go on the weight loss, Brittany! I admire those who can do low carb because for me it just isn’t possible!

    I have almond flour I have been waiting to use and now I can!! Gonna bake these this afternoon!!

    • Thank you! Low Carb is hard, but easy to stick with once you figure out all your choices. Plus it is easy to stay motivated! And I have noticed when I cheat or eat more carbs than I should one day, the next day I just don’t feel as good. I’m bloated and want to be lazy. Definitely sticking to the healthy foods is easier when you feel better in general.

      Let me know how those cookies turn out! I’m going to have to make another batch already!

  2. It was so fun seeing ya’ll yesterday! I loved Truett’s face when he saw me walk into the restaurant, wish I had had a video camera.
    I made your okra and tomatoes recipe and used Andoille sausage and added shrimp. Made it more like gumbo!! Yum.
    I also made the spaghetti squash and meatballs recipe. John loved it! I was shocked he actually ate something healthy.
    I then made the coconut macaroons but used unsweetened coconut which was a little dry. We need to figure out how to moisten it up next time. Oh, they will still get eaten, believe me!
    Love you and proud of you!! MOM

    • I’m so glad John liked everything! We’ll get him eating healthy even if he doesn’t know it! You should try making the bowtie pasta recipe with spaghetti squash instead of pasta, its really good. Had fun seeing you guys too, and we will see you in 3 weeks!Love you!

Leave a Reply

