Five Dozen Cookies Later…

No, I did not eat five dozen cookies. I definitely made them though. Yesterday I wanted to play with the recipe a little bit for the sugar free almond flour cookies. I also added unsweetened coconut flakes, and this batch, so far is my favorite. Brent’s too. The first batch was very yummy and so soft, but this one is more like a big chewy cookie, with a little crunchy on the outside. And the coconut adds a nice flavor, plus more fiber. I sweetened it with Splenda, rather than the sugar free maple syrup, and I think that is why it is a little more dry, which i like. Let’s be honest, I like all of them. It’s a cookie, I’ll eat it and love it.

Low Carb Coconut and Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

2.5 Cups of Almond Flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup Splenda
1 egg
1/4 cup grapeseed oil/canola oil/coconut oil
1 Tbsp Vanilla extract
1/2 cup sugar free chocolate chips
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

Mix the flour, baking soda, salt and splenda together in a bowl. I opened the egg into the 1/2 cup measuring cup, and then filled it the rest of the way with the oil. I wanted to make sure I had a half of a cup of liquid. Pour in the liquid ingredients and mix well with the dry. Then mix in the chipsand coconut flakes and chill the dough for about 20 minutes. It may take a little elbow grease, and you may wonder how these will form into cookies, but I promise it works! After it is chilled, preheat the oven to 350 and line your baking sheet with parchment paper. I used a tablespoon to scoop out the dough, and then I formed it into a ball in my hands. Put it on the baking sheet and pressed it into a disc. This batch made 30 cookies this way. Bake for 8-9 minutes and let cool completely.

120 calories and .8 carbs per cookie. Plus they are really good and have 2g of Protein per cookie. Can we say this is like a health snack? Let’s just say it anyway.

image

Today my little man isn’t feeling so hot, I think this weather is really messing with his immune system. He is super congested and uncomfortable. He didn’t get a good nap yesterday or sleep well last night, so I gave him some benedryl with lunch and I’m hoping he feels a little better when he wakes up. The weather here in Oklahoma is bouncing back and forth between freezing rain (30s-40s) and the 70s and 80s. I mean, it’s crazy. I’m ready for summer. The pool every day and strengthening immune systems!

Man I am ready for the weekend! Friday morning is ballet, then the gym. Lunch, naps, errands… You know why I’m so excited? Because we don’t have any plans! Those are my favorite kind of weekends.

What are your favorite kind of weekends?

2 thoughts on “Five Dozen Cookies Later…

  1. I made some very similar to this the other day. Mine did NOT include the oil though and I did use a little bit of wheat flour because I didn’t have blanched almond flour, just the regular stuff. If I hadn’t of used the WW flour, they would have fallen apart.

    You should try Stevia or Xylitol in place of Splenda. That stuff is downright bad for you and the other two I named are from more natural sources. I don’t like artificial sweeteners at all but those are the ones I use.

Leave a Reply

