Almond Flour Pancakes and Mr. Rogers

Yesterday was another one of those days that I was glad when it was over. I mean, first off, the bombing in Boston is unspeakable. I honestly stopped watching the news about 4:30 because I just couldn’t watch anymore. Brent gets so fired up about these things when they happen, just like most people. He doesn’t want to watch the news coverage or really talk about it. He was telling me last night about some stories from when he was in Baghdad, and the memories that these bombings bring back. Anyway, I saw that quote from Mr. Rogers that was going around social media yesterday, and I think it is perfect. It is something I will definitely pass on to my kids, because I don’t know how to explain events like this to them. Mr. Rogers

Do your kids watch Daniel Tiger on PBS? Mine do, I love watching it. It brings back all kinds of memories from the Mr. Rogers Show.

Other than that, yesterday was just a rough day. Truett felt awful so I took him to the pediatrician. He has a sinus infection that is starting to build up into his ears, so we got some antibiotics to kick it. I think he is feeling a little better this morning, so here’s hoping.

I wanted to make Chicken and White Cheese Zucchini Lasagna for dinner last night, but Truett was all over me, crying and not wanting to be put down. So I opted for a new pancake recipe! Who doesn’t like breakfast for dinner?

I found the recipe at Primal Palate and it turned out to be amazing. Brent and I both now prefer these to regular ol’ pancakes. They have great flavor and are super healthy. Truett had two, and Hadley had one plus a slice of leftover pizza. It made about 15 four inch pancakes, which we demolished. They are a little darker than regular pancakes, and maybe a little more dense, but are richer and definitely better for you. Each pancake has about 2.5 grams of protein and one carb. I loaded my plate up with some sugar free syrup and got after it. Also had a few slices of turkey bacon. Best dinner!
image

 

Ingredients

  • 1.75 cup Almond Flour
  • 2 Eggs, whisked
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp Ground Nutmeg
  • 2/3 cup Water
  • Butter (for frying)

In a small mixing bowl, whisk two eggs. Pour almond flour, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg into a medium sized mixing bowl. Add vanilla extract, and eggs to the bowl. Mix with a wooden spoon to combine. Add water, and continue to stir. Heat 1 tablespoon of butter or coconut oil in a large non stick skillet. Using 1/8 cup, scoop batter into the frying pan, leaving enough space in between pancakes to flip. Cook 2 minutes on the first side, flip, and cook for a remaining 1-2 minutes. Add additional cooking fat as needed. Top with your choice of syrup or peanut butter (like Brent) and enjoy!
image

These really are great and will be not only my new go to dinner, but my new pancake recipe in general. I wouldn’t feel bad about having these a couple times a month (or more) at all. I only wish I had some leftover for breakfast this morning!

I will be attempting the Chicken and White Cheese Zucchini Lasagna tonight, so we’ll see how that goes. And off to the gym I go!

Today’s food:

  • Breakfast: Eggs with cheese and salsa – 2 carbs
  • Post Workout: Low Carb Gourmet Elite Protein Shake – 5 carbs
  • Lunch: Leftover chopped brisket and veggies – 3 carbs
  • Snack: Peanut Butter Cookies! – 2 carbs
  • Dinner: Chicken and White Cheese Lasagna

 

What is your go to dinner when you can’t make what you planned?

Leave a Reply

