Truffles and Thai Food

I love truffles. Let me rephrase – I love desserts. Creme Brule, cheesecake, cookies, brownies, key lime pie, everything. I’m not sure if I have ever had a dessert I didn’t like. There is this fun little cupcake bakery and candy shop in town, and they have all kinds of candy, gifts, and amazing flavors of truffles. I always just stand there staring at them like I’ve never seen one before. Obviously, cutting sugar out of my diet has limited me in having sweets in general unless I make them. So I looked up a basic truffle recipe, only to realize it is ridiculously easy. Now, this was my first attempt, and all though they turned out very good, I am going to change it up next time I make them, which will be when my Mom comes up this Friday (Yay!!)

PBTruffle2

I mean, I could eat the whole plateful and not feel bad about myself. These have no sugar in them, besides what is already in the peanut butter. And they were so easy and quick, I threw them together after the kids went to bed, let them chill and then we ate some while we watched a movie on the couch. Only three ingredients, ready?PBTruffleIngredients

  • 1 cup of Peanut Butter
  • 8 oz of Cream Cheese
  • 1/2 cup Sugar Free Chocolate Chips

Put the cream cheese out to soften, or in the microwave for a few seconds if you just can’t wait. Add a cup of creamy peanut butter and mix it together well. Put it in the fridge or freezer until it gets cold. Cover a cookie sheet with a piece of foil so you don’t have as much to clean up later. When you pull out the bowl, grab a spoon or melon baller and scoop out a little bit, roll it between your hands to make a ball, and set it on the cookie sheet. Repeat this for all of your peanut butter mix. I made them about the size of a quarter, and it made about 45. While I was rolling them out, I heated up the chocolate chips until they were melted. If the chocolate doesn’t get as thin as you want, you can put in a tablespoon of vegetable oil to keep it smooth and shiny. Then I just drizzled the chocolate over the tops. I put them back in the fridge to let the chocolate harden faster, and then grabbed a few for the movie. So yummy. Like a peanut butter cup. Except these have about 1.7 carbs per truffle, and 2g of Protein. They are about a hundred calories each, but that doesn’t matter to me as much.PBTruffle

Next time, I’m going to put in a scoop of my vanilla protein powder. I’m also going to make some chocolate and cream cheese ones that are completely dipped in the chocolate, and some where I stir the melted chocolate into the peanut butter and cream cheese, and then roll them in crushed peanuts, protein powder, or any other goodies I can think of.

You might be wondering if I am still losing weight by making all of these sweets. I am, because I am rationing them. I only lost one pound last week, which was less than I wanted, but I have actually noticed a big change in my muscle tone over the last couple of weeks, so that is encouraging. I already knew I was going to have a cheat meal on Saturday night, because Brent offered up Thai food for dinner, and I CANNOT pass up Thai food. I even tried something new off of the menu. Chicken breasts swimming in peanut sauce over wilted spinach. Let’s just say I’ll be trying to remake that dish very soon. It was so so so good. Add in a couple of glasses of Reisling, I was one happy girl. Yesterday was back at the eating healthy, and Sunday is my off day from the gym. Today I will be back at the gym, as well as eating right.

Also this week, I will be really hoping they are able to get the foundation poured for the new house. We have had so much rain the last few weeks that the ground isn’t able to dry out between storms, and they can’t pour concrete on mud. I know we desperately need the rain, but if we could just hold off a week that would be great!!

What is your favorite dessert?

Leave a Reply

