Update: Better Peanut Butter Cookies

Yesterday while my kids were napping, I picked up the house and cleaned the kitchen, changed the laundry, took a quick shower and still had a few minutes. So I wanted to remake the Peanut Butter cookies I made last week, and try something different with them. I made the recipe exactly the same, and then added in two scoops of my vanilla protein powder. Rolled them into balls, pressed them with a fork, and popped them in the oven for 10 minutes. What came out was even better than I expected. These have a really rich flavor, and a better texture than the first batch. PBcookie1

I sent a picture of them to Brent and told him that they were waiting for him at home, and he was pretty excited. So he tried one when he walked in and immediately asked me what was different. I was afraid he didn’t like them, but he said they were so so much better than the others, which he didn’t think was possible. I think he has already had 5 or so. The nutrition information didn’t change too much, my batch made about 45 cookies.

PBcookiesize

About this size. 75 calories, 1.5 carbs, and 2.5g of Protein per cookie. Not bad, and they taste so stinkin good.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup xylitol
  • 1 egg
  • 2 scoops protein powder of choice

Directions: Mix everything together, roll into balls and place on lined baking sheet. Press with fork to make the cross marks, and bake for 10 minutes at 350. Let them cool completely on baking sheet before moving them. Then set them out for a few hours or overnight to firm up. These are fragile and need to dry out a little so they aren’t so crumbly. Feel free to eat a few right out of the oven.

PBcookie7

Today is my grocery store day, so I have my menu and list all worked out, and I am OCD enough that I put it in order by section of the store. I have a few new recipes to try, and some pretty fun things in store for the weekend. Can you believe school is almost out?? Hadley thrives in school, I’m really going to have to step it up over the summer and keep her academics going. Plus I’m so ready to get back in the pool every day! And I am very ready for Brent to have a break, this has been a rough semester with him taking 16 hours. I also went out to the lot yesterday, and the stem walls were poured and up, and the foreman said the plumbing is scheduled to go in tomorrow. Which means the foundation should be poured next week! Eeek!! Hadley had her dress rehearsal last night for her performance tomorrow night, and it was so cute! The dance is adorable and she made sure she was right in front!! I can’t wait to watch her at the game. I think she is most excited about all the makeup she gets to wear, haha!

Tonight for dinner I’m grabbing a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store and we will have some yummy roasted vegetables with it. Quick and easy since I won’t have much prep time before my little monsters get hungry!

I’ve been hearing a lot of great feedback lately from people making some of the recipes I’ve found. I’d love to hear more!

Leave a Reply

