Weekend Recap and Birthday Cake Oreo Rice Krispies

Another busy weekend down, another to follow in a few days. It was a lot of fun too. We spent practically the whole weekend with friends, doing different activities and unfortunately, being very cold. It is May, and here in Oklahoma, this is record setting weather. One of the places we went this weekend was the Art Festival, and it was so chilly! Last year at the festival we were all fighting for shade, and I remember trying to keep the sun off of Truett and wanting to leave because it was just so stinkin hot. It was a nice change to be cool, but I’m so ready for some pool time. Even the birthday party we went to over the weekend was cut short because of the weather. It was outside at the park, and the wind was blowing so hard out of the north that most people left after the cake. That didn’t stop the kids from having a blast, they chased each other around wearing Ninja Turtles masks and fighting with pool noodles. And Brent hasn’t stopped talking about what good candy Claire chose for the goodie bags. I’m sure you can guess he has ransacked both of the kids bags, and Truett will be lucky if he sees another piece!

Church was another awesome message, as always. The series we are in is about what we need to do to have a blessed home. How we can be more than just called a “christian” family, but become a “christ-centered” home. Too many people call themselves christians but don’t live like it. We need to raise our children with pure hearts and high morals. It may be hard in this society, but I will do all I can.

A nice surprise this weekend was driving out to our lot and seeing that they had started framing the house!! They weren’t going to do that until this week, but I was very happy to see that they are trying to make up some of that time we lost with all the rain.

At Hadley’s school today, they are celebrating her birthday! Even though her birthday isn’t until July, her teacher has a special day for all of the kids with summer birthdays. I love that idea, and I had never thought about it until I had a kid with a summer birthday! Her teacher asked if I could bring something other than cupcakes, that they were cupcaked-out from all the other moms. So I was trying to think of something creative, where I could sneak something healthy into the kids treat, and of course I turned to Pinterest. I first decided on bananas dipped in chocolate and rolled in sprinkles. Sunday afternoon I started thinking about how the bananas might turn brown, or turn too soft before the kids got to eat them, and I didn’t have time to make them this morning. So I started talking to Brent and looking on Pinterest, yes again…  We saw a recipe for Funfetti Oreo and Rice Krispie Treats. SOLD! And this recipe had white chocolate drizzled on top with more sprinkles. I mean, come on. I know I like to eat healthy, but these are too good to pass up! So I ran to the store and grabbed what I needed and made them while Brent gave the kids a bath after dinner. I had to use my once monthly bath pass, for whatever reason it stresses Brent out to give the kids their bath. I love it, it is relaxing and I know it is winding them down for bedtime. When the kids were babies, you couldnt pay him to do their bath. Maybe its just a mom thing?

Dinner was so good, by the way. We had some leftover steaks, so I riced some cauliflower, cut up some bell peppers, and made a burrito bowl of sorts. Cheese, salsa, and sour cream is all I need to make anything delicious.
image

Back to the treats. I made the recipe just as stated here., and they turned out perfectly delicious. The only thing I had to do was add a little vegetable oil to the white chocolate, because the cake mix made it too thick to drizzle.
image

 

Birthday Oreo Rice Krispie Treats

6 TBSP unsalted butter
1 16-ounce bag of mini marshmallows
12 ounces Rice Krispies Cereal
1 package Birthday Oreos, chopped into pieces
1 tsp. vanilla extract
6 ounces white chocolate
1/3 cup Funfetti Cake Mix
Sprinkles

Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat and add marshmallows and vanilla.

Stir until they begin to melt.

When melted stir in cereal and cookies so it they are completely coated with marshmallow mixture.

image

Did you know these existed?? I did not and they are amazing!!

Press into a baking dish (9 by 13…but you need tall sides).

Melt white chocolate in a double boiler, when melted mix in the cake batter and drizzle over the pan. Add extra sprinkles so they stick to the white chocolate mixture.

Let sit for about 30 minutes before cutting.
image

I loaded UP on the sprinkles. Who doesn’t always want extra sprinkles on their anything? So much for sneaking in a healthy snack, but after all its her ‘birthday’ treat at school.

Lots of things to get done today and tomorrow! It is also dog treat day for Mox and I think he knows it!! Off I go!

Leave a Reply

