Breakfast Casserole Muffins

Last night Brent and I just weren’t in the mood for anything specific, which almost always means we end up having breakfast for dinner. My mom always makes this delicious breakfast casserole for holidays or when there are large groups of people. So I thought that might be a fun dinner for the kids, change it up a little. I also made it in muffin tins instead of a casserole dish, because it cooks faster and everyone can make theirs differently if they want to. Instead of using hashbrowns, I decided to use cauliflower to make it low carb but still filling.
image
I just broke up the florets into small pieces. Then I layered in diced ham, fresh spinach, and cheese. Really you could put in anything you like. Sometimes we make ours with sausage and green chiles, or Carne Adovada, diced chicken and chives, the options are endless!
image
image
I mixed up the eggs as if I was going to scramble them, and poured them over top of everything in the tin. I made 18 muffins, but I only used 14 eggs. If you fill the muffin cup to the top, it will spill over in the oven. I filled them about 2/3 to 3/4 full.
image
Bake on 350 for 25-30 minutes, until the tops are golden and they don’t jiggle when you shake the pan. If you do this in a casserole dish it needs to cook for 45-60 minutes.
image
image
Everyone devoured these, and it was a nice change from our normal breakfast for dinner. Hadley had two, and I never even told her there was cauliflower in it. Of course I loaded mine up with a roasted tomatillo salsa.

This morning I went to the gym, came home and fed the kids lunch, and put Truett down for his nap. Hadley needed to paint her nails so she’ll have her nap when she is done. 😉 She does a surprisingly good job!
image

We have more bad weather headed for us today, so we probably won’t get much outside time later. Who knows though, I thought the same thing yesterday and it only rained for about 3 minutes and was sunny the rest of the day.

I don’t think we have any plans this weekend! Except swinging by a wedding reception for a few minutes to say hello, it is looking to be a pretty relaxing weekend!

What are your plans for the weekend?

Do you have a go to breakfast dish for large groups?

One thought on “Breakfast Casserole Muffins

Leave a Reply

