New Brick? And Chicken with Mushrooms in White Wine Sauce

Yesterday afternoon was pretty frustrating to say the least. Our builder called to let us know that we had to come by and choose different brick for the exterior of our house. Apparently our next door neighbors chose the same brick, before we did of course,  and the mistake was just now caught. We found another brick that we like, so it wasn’t too big of a deal, but while we were there I noticed a new granite countertop in the design center. It looked similiar to the one that I chose in the beginning, and she looked it up and told me that it in fact, was the granite we chose for the kitchen.  It was hideous. So ugly I can hardly describe to you how much we disliked it. The sample we saw was white, with big flecks of pearl and black veins running through it, and tiny specks of orange here and there. This was the same, but add in giant red splotches all over. I almost cried. Needless to say, Brent called our sales rep and is getting it changed. Not sure to what yet, but almost anything would be better than that!!

He went to the gym after we left the design center and I took the kids to the park to burn off some energy before dinner.

image

We came home and I was at a loss as to what to do with the chicken for dinner. I pulled out some ingredients from the fridge, and googled “chicken and mushrooms”. After reading 4 or 5 different recipes, here is what I came up with.

I had two chicken breasts, so I cut them each into 4 strips. Heated up some EVOO and put them in a skillet. I sprinkled on some salt and pepper, and cooked them on each side for about 5 minutes. Then I put them in a dish and covered it with foil and popped it in the oven to stay warm, on 200 degrees. While the chicken was cooking, I quartered some button mushrooms, minced 4 cloves of garlic, and grabbed the parsley. After the chicken was in the oven I added a little more EVOO to the pan and tossed in the garlic. Cook it for about a minute, then put in the mushrooms. Let these cook for about 5 minutes, til they are golden and start to soften. Then the best part, pour in about 2/3 cup of white wine.(Here is also where you pour yourself a glass) Stir it all together, and scrape the bottom of your pan with a wooden spoon to get any stuck on bits off. They will dissolve into the wine and really make the flavor delicious. Then I sprinkled in about 1/8 cup of dried parsley because I didnt have any fresh. I just let it simmer and reduce by half. Pulled out the chicken and poured the mushrooms and sauce on top.

image

Here is the recipe that mine is most like, but I cut a couple of her ingredients and changed some things. She breaks down the nutritional information, but since i cut the flour out of mine, i figure it is about 150 calories and 5 carbs per serving, which is 2 strips and about a quarter of the mushrooms and sauce. Either way, it was soooo good and only took about 20 minutes to make.  Everyone ate it all, and I paired it with a little italian salad.

image

image

After dinner we headed outside for some popsicles!

image

image

Earlier today I was at the gym, ran out by the new house to double check the brick I chose, fed the kids lunch, and got them down for naps so I could pull myself together for tonight. We have our first dance lesson later! I am pretty excited about it!

Have a great weekend!

Does your neighborhood or street do a big kick-off to summer party? Ours is tomorrow and it is so much fun!!

Have you ever taken dance lessons? Neither one of us know how to dance and need some help with all of these weddings coming up!

Leave a Reply

