Spaghetti Squash Taco Bowls and Homemade Salsa

I saw a recipe on Pinterest a while ago for stuffed spaghetti squash. Normally, I fill our spaghetti squash with spaghetti sauce or swedish meatballs and gravy, or even veggies and pesto. But these had taco fillings in them. I wasn’t sure how they would go over with Brent, but he loves spaghetti squash so I thought I would give it a try.

It was a total hit! My kids are not huge fans of the squash because of the texture, so I made theirs like a bowl from Chipotle and they ate it up! Ours was very similar, just in a spaghetti squash instead of a plate. The buttery taste of the squash mixed with all the fillings was perfect, and if I may say, even better than rice. It was really easy, just like making tacos! But instead of putting tortillas in the microwave, bake a spaghetti squash. Saves you calories and carbs!

Spaghetti Squash Taco Bowl

1 Spaghetti Squash
1 lb ground meat (any kind is delicious!)
1 package of taco seasoning
1 can of corn
1 can of black beans, rinsed
2 cloves of garlic or some garlic powder to taste

Toppings – whatever you prefer for your tacos! I made homemade salsa, added shredded cheese, sour cream, cilantro and diced avocado.

Cut the spaghetti squash in half and scrape out the insides. Rub the meat with butter or extra virgin olive oil, season with some salt and pepper and throw it in the oven on 425 for 25 minutes. This is for a medium sized squash, small ones won’t take as long to cook, so keep an eye on it, and stab it with a fork every once and a while. I like the top to get a little golden on the edges.

While you are cooking the squash, put the meat in the skillet and get it browned. I make homemade salsa all the time and just keep it in the fridge, but if you want to open your favorite jar of it, feel free! (I’ll post that recipe at the bottom) This is also the time where I get out all the other ingredients and set them up so I can just whip up the bowls. Shredded cheese, dice the avocado, sour cream, chop some cilantro, diced onion, jalepenos, etc. Whatever you are craving! When the meat is browned, sprinkle in the taco seasoning and however much water it calls for and cook it for 5 or so minutes, and then toss in the beans and corn to heat through. This only takes a few minutes. By now the squash should be done, so pull it out of the oven. Then fill the insides with the meat/bean/corn mixture and top it with some cheese. Put it back in the oven for a couple of minutes just to melt the cheese. When you pull it back out top it with whatever your little heart desires. Mine was loaded up with salsa, sour cream, cilantro, onions, and diced avocados. I ate about half of mine, and Brent ate about half of his, which means I still have leftovers for lunch!
image
Such an easy dinner, and really so healthy. I mean, think of all those veggies taking the place of carbs and grains that you don’t need that late into the day! YUM.

For Salsa
My sister-in-law makes this delicious salsa, so I finally paid attention a year or so ago and we haven’t had anything else since!

1 can of Fire Roasted Tomatoes
1 can original Rotel
1 large tomato
Handful of fresh cilantro
Garlic cloves or powder to taste

I put all of it in the blender or magic bullet and mix it together. If you want to make it spicier you can add onion or change the original rotel to mild or hot. You can even throw in a jalepeno. But my kids aren’t into spicy yet, so this is just warm enough to satisfy me but where they will still eat it. Sometimes I use two fresh tomatoes or two cans of fire roasted tomatoes if it seems warmer than usual.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

