Pesto Apple Chicken with Provolone and Roasted Broccoli

A while ago a friend of mine posted a picture of her dinner, and it looked O-So-Tasty, so I wanted to try it!

I had pretty much all the ingredients, so here is what we had for dinner.
image
Pesto Apple Chicken with Provolone and Roasted Broccoli

Ingredients:
Chicken Breasts
Pesto
Fuji Apple (or 2) sliced thin
Sliced Provolone

Broccoli and EVOO

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 425.You can pound out the chicken breasts if you’d like to, or if you just want them to cook faster. I didn’t do this this time but sometimes I do. I slathered on a tablespoon or two of Pesto straight onto the chicken and then covered the whole breast in apple slices. I put it on a foil lined baking dish and into the hot oven for about 30 minutes. When I pulled it out, the apples were cooked really nicely so I put two slices of Provolone cheese on top of each chicken breast and then popped them back into the oven to melt the cheese. At this time I also put the broccoli (drizzled in EVOO) in the oven on the top rack to broil for about 10 minutes.

The chicken had the best flavor, the apples really paired well with the pesto and cheese. Brent was pretty concerned when I told him what we were having, but he said he really enjoyed it! He was surprised at how much he liked the apples on it. I wasn’t, I knew it would be delicious!! Both kids cleaned their plates and Hadley was upset that she didn’t get more apples. Next time, I’ll broil some extra for her. Thanks for the recipe Rachel!

Leave a Reply

