Cucumber Salad on a Warm Summer Night

Yesterday was a “Get-back-in-the-swing-of-things” kind of day. After my family coming up to visit a few days last week and then going down to Texas for 4 days, I was super unmotivated and tired. It is so daunting to have all of your “vacation laundry” to do, on top of the normal everyday stuff. I had to get to the gym, because I really didn’t want to. Those are usually the days I need it the most. I did feel pretty good afterwards, and I enjoy starting my day feeling productive after a good workout. It sets the tone for the rest of my afternoon to get things done and stay in a good mood.

After my workout the kids and I headed to one of my favorite sandwich shops, Jimmy John’s! It was their first visit, so I had a #12 Unwich (Low Carb) and they split a turkey sandwich. I also picked one up for Brent and ran it over to his office for him, since he was having a really busy day. I really like the Unwich option for any sandwich, not only does it cut all the calories and carbs from the bread, but it still has all the flavor and deliciousness of a sandwich. An Unwich is basically your sandwich wrapped in its lettuce, rather than on bread. YUM.
image
image

I brought the kids home afterwards and they took fantastic naps, which was not a big surprise as they are both still exhausted from our trip. I showered and started working on my grocery list, which includes planning a weekly menu, and usually takes me about an hour.

This weeks menu:
Grilled Chicken with Cucumber Salad
Spaghetti Squash with Meatballs and Marinara
Chicken Bacon Poppers and Grilled Broccoli
Shrimp and Avocado Salad
Pesto Apple Chicken with Roasted Cauliflower

I usually only plan 5 meals per week, because inevitably one night we will decide to eat out, and one night we will do leftovers.

Last night I grabbed two of the chicken breasts and seasoned them up for the grill, and since it was so warm out I knew Brent would rather have a cold side than a hot one. I had seen a cucumber salad recipe on Pinterest, so I thought I would try that. It has a little greek flare to it, which I love. And it is very light and summery, it could go with almost any protein.
image
Cucumber Salad

2 large cucmbers
1/3 cup of sour cream or Fage Greek Yogurt
2 Tbsp of dried dill
2 Tbsp of Lemon juice
Garlic powder to taste
Salt and Pepper to taste

Slice the cucumbers in half longways, and then use a mandolin to slice them very thin. Set aside.
Mix all the remaining ingredients together in a bowl and whisk or stir until smooth. Pour over the cucumbers and combine well. Serve immediately or chill in the fridge.

This turned out great and we actually topped it with some kalamata olives. It would also be good with some feta sprinkled on top.

This was a great low carb summer dinner that my husband loved! My kids ate up the cucumber salad too! I would definitely take that to a barbecue… Maybe that means its time to have one!

Do you have a favorite summer dinner?

2 thoughts on “Cucumber Salad on a Warm Summer Night

Leave a Reply

