Stuffed Chicken Bacon Bites

For years I have been making this chicken dish, and it has always been one of my favorites. As my kids are getting a little older, and I really dislike making the same dishes continuously (even though I feel like I do), I have been trying to get creative with presentation so they don’t get picky or bored. Normally I pound out chicken breasts, stuff them with cream cheese and green chiles, wrap them in bacon and grill them. No matter how you slice it, these are delicious. So last night I decided to slice the breasts into tenders, and make mini “bite size” versions of these in hopes that the kids would have fun with it. I also used a fresh poblano pepper instead of green chiles or jalapeños, just to change it up. They have no heat to them, and have a really yummy flavor.

I sliced up the pepper into strips and set them on a plate. Then I put a big dollop of cream cheese on the plate, then I took bacon slices and cut them in thirds and put them on the same plate. I put the chicken breasts in a plastic bag and pounded them until they were about a half inch thick. Cut them into about 6 tenders each. Grab one, spread some cream cheese on it, lay a pepper on that, fold it over and wrap it in a slice of the bacon. This is where I realized I was out of toothpicks. Make sure you have toothpicks. Instead, I pulled out the big metal shishkabob skewers and decided to stack them up. I made 12 little poppers and put them on 3 skewers. I also realized I was out of charcoal for the grill. It’s fun cooking with me, isn’t it?? On goes the oven, to about 400. I layed the skewers in a baking dish, drizzled them lightly with EVOO and sprinkled them with the ever so versatile, Cavenders Greek Seasoning. I cooked them for about 20 minutes, and then turned on the broiler to crisp up the bacon.
image

While these were cooking I boiled some cauliflower, drained it and set it aside. Then I made a cheese sauce with a little half and half and some cheddar cheese. I poured it over the cauliflower, sprinkled it with mozzarella and put it in the oven to melt while the bacon was crisping.
image

Do you know what it’s like to have your kids eat their cauliflower before any other item on their plate? Neither did I – until last night. They loved it! Besides their chicken they also got grapes, and still finished the cauliflower first. Needless to say, I will be making that often. They cleaned their plates and my almost four year old told me that’s the only way she wanted to eat chicken anymore. Ha! Brent said he preferred the poblano peppers to the others I have used before.

The whole meal was easy and turned out delicious, and once again there are no leftovers. Super low carb, and low calorie depending on how much cheese you put into your cauliflower. But hey, it’s better than macaroni! For me, the smaller chicken bites really helped me control my portion size better. Normally I would eat a whole small chicken breast with lots of stuffing and probably 2 slices of bacon wrapped around it. I had 4 pieces, which would be 2/3 of one of these breasts, less than an ounce of cream cheese, and only 1 and 1/3 slices of bacon. Crazy, but it looked like more food, and was actually less. And I definitely didn’t need anymore.

Hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

