Pepperoni Pizza Casserole

Yes, you read that right. And maybe you’ve seen this recipe circulating Pinterest, but I just saw it two days ago, and I made it last night for dinner. It was from I Breathe I’m Hungry.

She starts with steaming the cauliflower, and then pureeing it in the food processor with cheese and pepperoni. This was easy and delicious, but instead of pureeing the entire head of cauliflower, I only did about half, and left the other half in florets. I placed them in the baking dish and poured the puree over it, then cheese, black olives, and pepperoni. It was soooooo good. Really cured my pizza craving! And to be honest, easier than cauliflower crust pizza. You could make this with any and all toppings. Next time I will definitely add in some italian sausage, or even ricotta as well. The options are endless. I may have to make two, because I could eat this every day for lunch and feel like I’m getting pizza, as well as my husband, the “Pizza Purist” who only likes pepperoni and cheese pizza. Did I mention both kids cleaned their plates and had no idea they were eating cauliflower? After Hadley was done, I asked her if she knew what her dinner was and she said, “pizza!”. Yes, I told her, but what was in it? She had no idea, and when I told her cauliflower she made this face like, are you kidding me? But she loved it!

Original recipe is from www.ibreatheimhungry.com and I’ve added my changes!
image

Ingredients

For the Puree
  • 1/2 large head of cauliflower
  • 2 Tbsp Heavy Cream
  • 1 Tbsp Butter
  • 8 slices pepperoni
  • 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

For the Casserole

  • 1/2 large head of cauliflower
  • sliced pepperoni
  • sliced black olives
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Instructions

For the Puree
  • Clean and trim the cauliflower, breaking it into medium sized pieces. Place in a microwave safe bowl with 2 Tbl of cream and 1 Tbl of butter. Microwave, uncovered, on high for 10 minutes. Stir to coat cauliflower with cream/butter mixture. Microwave for another six minutes on high (or until tender.) Remove from the microwave and put into a high speed blender or food processor along with the 8 slices of pepperoni and 1/4 cup mozzarella cheese. Puree until smooth. Season with salt and pepper to taste. You can adjust the cream and butter to your preference for consistency (I added a few more Tbsp of cream and 1 Tbsp of butter).

For the Casserole

  • Place the cauliflower florets into an 8 x 8 oven proof casserole dish.
  • Spread the cauliflower puree over the florets. Cover with 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese, and layer with olives, pepperoni and toppings of choice. Bake at 375 degrees (F) for about 20 minutes. Alternatively you could microwave this for 5 minutes. Serve hot.

Notes

Approximate nutrition info per serving: 207 calories, 15g fat, 4.75g net carbs, 10g protein

 

image

Please make this! I’m telling you, your kids and husband will thank you, as well as you will know that you are making them eat so many vegetables and they have no idea! It is a tricky game, and you’ll win! We also topped ours with a few spoonfuls of warm marinara. Like I said, next time (next week??) I am going to add some ricotta, italian sausage, basil, who knows what else, and it is going to be amazing. I love how cauliflower is so versatile!! Let me know if you make it and how it turns out!
Leave a Reply

