Easy and Skinny Pumpkin Muffins… and Racecars?

Last year I made a Pumpkin bread mix with just a can of pumpkin and water, rather than any oil or eggs. So I thought I would whip up some muffins the other day before Brent and I left, but realized the recipe was different for muffins. It called for eggs, oil, and a cup of milk. I knew I was going to use canned pumpkin instead of oil and eggs, so I decided to sub almond milk for regular milk and hope for the best! It worked out even better than I expected. The muffins were richer in flavor and creamier than I’ve ever made before. Basically you trade oil evenly for pumpkin: 1/3 cup oil = 1/3 cup pumpkin. For every egg sub 1/4 cup of pumpkin. I used 1 cup of almond milk when it called for 1 cup of milk. Then I mixed it all with the box of Pumpkin Quick Bread mix and popped it in the oven for 15-20 minutes.
image

Truett calls them Pumpkin Cupcakes and loves to have them any time of the day.
image

This passed Friday, after I ran Hadley up to school after lunch, our babysitter got to the house. Truett went down for a nap and wee jumped in the truck to go check out Brent’s birthday present. He had no idea where we were going or what for, so I punched in the address to the GPS and we just chatted about different things for the hour and a half drive. When we started getting close to the exit, I was reaching for my phone to take a video of his reaction, because the Speedway was right at the end of the exit. What I didn’t realize was that there was a huge sign before the exit that said “Hallett Motor Speedway Exit ###”. He looked at me with this big grin and said, “Babe – is that where we are going? Tell me thats where we are going!!” I was bummed I missed the craziness and the woohoo-ing, but he was so so excited! Then there was a gap in the trees where you could see it was a road course, instead of a circle track. That got him even more amped up. When we finally pulled up, the gates were closed because you have to drive across the course to check in. He was talking about it and then saw some of the cars go by. A Ferrari, Audi, Porsche…. he was making noises only a man can make when they see ridiculously fast cars. I told him that he got to drive one of those cars and started saying, “the ferrari? the porsche? tell me its the ferrari?” Then I was kind of bummed! Because I got him the Lamborghini!! Before I could even get it out of my mouth you could hear the Lamborghini approaching. He looked up and saw it fly by, and I told him that was the one. He just kept saying “This is so awesome. Great job babe! I can’t believe you did this!” I was pretty proud of myself!!

I sat in on the safety class before hand, and then we went outside. Where it had dropped to 40 degrees and started raining. Uuuuuugh. I brought a hat and a scarf and threw them on with my jacket. He went to the track and I went to the pit to watch him get fitted for his helmet and wait for the car to pull up. When he got in, there was an instructor inside who was explaining exactly how to get the most out of the car. I took some videos of him flying by, he was doing about 130 on the straightaways. When he finished, he said he definitely wasn’t cold anymore!
image

We drove back towards home and decided to grab some dinner, so we went to a great little restaurant by the house. When we got home, the house was picked up, the kids rooms were clean, they were in their jammies and waiting for us to put them to bed! Talk about a great babysitter. We couldn’t be happier and love having someone we trust so much with our kiddos.

Hope you guys are having a great Monday!

Leave a Reply

