Venison Stew

Trying to think of all kinds of ways to cook up this deer in our freezer, and it has been so so cold around here I was craving a big hearty stew. So I cubed up a venison roast and got to it!

First I put a couple of tablespoons of EVOO in the bottom of my stock pot to heat up. Then I put in the cubed meat, and dusted it with a little flour as I put it in. I cooked it until all the sides were brown. Then I put in about 6 cups of beef broth, brought it to a simmer, and just let it cook on low for a few hours. About an hour before were ready to eat I put in all my chopped veggies, tomatoes, and garlic and brought it up to a low boil. When the veggies were tender we were ready to eat!

I used a bag of baby carrots, which I chopped into thirds. About a half of a bag of celery, chopped. Half of an onion, chopped as fine as you like. A large can or two of crushed tomatoes in purée, and one potato. I wanted to try a butternut squash in place of a potato, but no one around here except me likes butternut squash. So I opted for a potato.

Season it however you like, with garlic, salt and pepper, ect. If you want it thicker than it becomes, just take a cup or so of the broth out and whisk in a few tablespoons of flour until it’s mixed well. Then pour it in the stew to thicken it up. Do this until you have the consistency you like. The best thing about stew is that it is easy to make your own.

20131210-135050.jpg
I have been cooking it this way since college, but I guess I have never made it for my husband. When he took a few bites he said, “Babe, I underestimated you and I’m sorry. This is way better than I thought it was going to be!” That was kind of a compliment, but he had little faith in me! I think it was just because I kept it simple. Let the meat and veggies flavor the stew, and don’t add too much. Taste it as you go to make sure it is just how you like it, and enjoy!

Another recipe I will be doing tomorrow is Venison Lasagna. Yum!

One thought on “Venison Stew

Leave a Reply

