Lightened Up Chicken Cordon Bleu

My 5 year olds favorite thing right now is stuffed chicken breasts. Her favorite is green chile and cream cheese, and then wrapping the chicken in bacon. I mean, cream cheese and bacon, there isn’t much better on anything!! I wanted to try making Chicken Cordon Bleu for dinner one night, so of course I turned to Skinnytaste.com. http://www.skinnytaste.com/2009/03/chicken-cordon-bleu.html

I did it almost exactly like she did, but instead of using the breadcrumbs for coating, I used almond flower because thats what I had in my pantry.

Ingredients:

  • cooking spray
  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp italian seasoning
  • 8 slices of ham (deli sliced)
  • 8 slices of swiss cheese (low fat)
  • toothpicks

I took 4 chicken breasts and pounded them out pretty thin, and then cut them in half. Then laid a slice of ham and a slice of swiss cheese on top of each. Rolled them up and pinned them shut with a toothpick.

I made an egg wash with one egg and a few tablespoons of water. In a separate bowl, I mixed almond flour with garlic powder and italian seasoning for the crust. I dipped each chicken roll into the egg wash and then in the flour mixture and made sure it was completely covered.

I sprayed a baking dish with cooking spray and then placed all the chicken rolls in there, seam side down, and spritzed the top of each one with cooking spray.

Baked on 450 for about 25 minutes.

In my other oven I broiled some asparagus, and also sliced some fresh yellow tomatoes to have with it as well.

IMG_1275

I was really surprised at how well the crust formed, and how crunchy it was. I had been worried that it was going to be a little mushy, but it was perfect. Great flavor, great texture. The kids ate every bite, and so did my hubby! It definitely did not taste healthy, which is probably why they liked it so much. Haha. I drizzled some dijon mustard on mine, after the picture of course. It was delicious!

Other things on my menu this week are Pizza Quesadillas, Lasagna, White Chicken Chili, and a Cold Pasta Salad that is a one dish dinner.

It’s good to be back blogging! My 5 year old is in kindergarten now and my almost 3 year old has started Mothers-Day-Out two days a week, so here is hoping for more regular posts, and a cleaner house!

2 thoughts on “Lightened Up Chicken Cordon Bleu

Leave a Reply

